AUDIO
  • Spring
  • Le Temps d'un Reve
  • Jour d'été à la montagne
  • Shintoku Forest Wind (Flute)
  • Syrinx (Flute)
  • Flute virtuoso

Open External Player

Symbolism

In early cultures the flute played an important role in the realm of magic and was very closely linked to the hereafter and the spirit world with its gods. The instrument is often shown as being played by gods or symbolizes a god’s voice: the Ancient Egyptians, for example, believed the voice of Isis, the gods’ mother, was audible in the long, drawn-out notes of the flute. Beside this it was the gods themselves who gave the flute to mankind as a gift; the Hindu deity Krishna – having taken on the form of a shepherd boy – brought the transverse flute to his people.

Probably the best known myth connected to the flute is the story of Pan in Greek mythology, who, under tragic circumstances, invented the instrument that bears his name – the Pan pipes.

The enchanting nymph Syrinx was fleeing the pursuit of the cloven-footed Pan, the god of shepherds and herds, and was saved by kindly gods who transformed her into reeds. Pan, pining for his lost love, tied several reeds together and blew through the stems like a breath of wind so that he might once more hear Syrinx’s sweet voice in their song. Later on he gave his hand-made instrument to the shepherds, and that is how it became known to mankind.

Artists of every epoch have drawn inspiration from the fascinating wealth of myths and legends woven around the flute, using it to finds means of musical expression. Claude Debussy, for instance, was inspired by the myth of the transformation of Syrinx in two works (Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun, Syrinx, 1913). The ethereal, pure and poetic sound of the flute is inextricably linked with mythical or spiritual figures and with death.

A further aspect of the flute’s symbolism is its portrayal of nature and rural life. This symbolism arose due to the instrument’s sound characteristics and is of onomatopoeic nature. Examples of this are the birdsong in Olivier Messiaen’s Le Merle Noir or Ludwig van Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphony.

Until Renaissance times the flute was also very closely associated with warfare and battles, since it and drums were the instruments played by foot soldiers. By the Baroque age, however, the instrument’s ability to express gentle feelings had been recognized. This aspect of the flute gained enormous importance in the Romantic period when it became the instrument par excellence for lending expression to sentimental feelings.

AUDIO
  • Spring
  • Le Temps d'un Reve
  • Jour d'été à la montagne
  • Shintoku Forest Wind (Soloflöte)
  • Syrinx (Soloflöte)
  • Flöte virtuos

Open External Player

Flöte 1
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Symbolik

Die Flöte hatte für die Menschen der Frühkulturen magische Bedeutung und war aufs Engste mit der jenseitigen, spirituellen Welt und ihren Göttern verbunden: Vielfach wird das Instrument von Göttern gespielt oder symbolisiert die Stimme eines Gottes: Im alten Ägypten hörten die Menschen in den langen Flötentönen die Stimme Isis’, der Göttermutter. Götter waren es auch, die den Menschen die Flöte zum Geschenk machten: Der indische Gott Krishna – in der Gestalt eines Hirtenknaben – brachte den Menschen die Querflöte.

Der wohl bekannteste Mythos, der sich um die Flöte rankt, stammt aus der griechischen Mythologie: die Geschichte des Pan, der unter tragischen Umständen die nach ihm benannte Panflöte erfindet.

Die liebliche Nymphe Syrinx wird auf der Flucht vor dem bocksfüßigen Pan, dem Gott der Hirten und Herden, von wohlgesonnenen Göttern gerettet, die sie in Schilf verwandeln. Pan, der sich in Sehnsucht nach Syrinx verzehrt, bindet einige Schilfrohre zusammen und bläst wie ein Windhauch durch die Halme, um in deren Gesang Syrinx’ süße Stimme zu vernehmen. Später schenkt er die selbstgebaute Flöte den Hirten, und so kam sie unter die Menschen.

Künstler aller Epochen schöpften aus dem reichen Schatz der Mythologie, der ihnen Faszination und Inspiration war. So lieferten auch die unzähligen Mythen um die Flöte Stoff für musikalische Ausdrucksformen. Claude Debussy, zum Beispiel, wurde von dem Verwandlungsmythos der Syrinx in zwei Werken inspiriert (Nachmittag eines Fauns, Syrinx, 1913). Der ätherische, reine und poetische Klang der Flöte ist untrennbar mit mythischen oder spirituellen Figuren und dem Tod verwoben.

Eine weitere Facette der Flötensymbolik ist die Darstellung von Natur und  Landleben – eine Symbolik, die aufgrund der Klangeigenschaften der Flöte entstand und onomatopoetischen Charakter hat. Beispiele dafür sind der Vogelgesang in Olivier Messiaens Le Merle Noir oder Ludwig van Beethovens Pastoralsymphonie.

Bis zur Renaissance hatte die Flöte einen sehr starken Bezug zu Krieg und Schlachten, denn sie gehörte zusammen mit den Trommeln zum Instrumentarium des Fußvolkes. Spätestens im Barock wurde ihr jedoch die Fähigkeit zuerkannt, zarte Gefühle ausdrücken zu können. Diese Seite der Flöte erlangte in der Romantik enorme Bedeutung, wo der Flötenklang zum starken Ausdruck sentimentaler Gefühle wurde.