AUDIO
  • Magnificent Journey (Contrabass trombone)
  • Solo for Contrabass trombone

Open External Player

Sound combinations

Contrabass trombone + brass instruments

Contrabass trombone + trombone
Written as the 4th trombone in orchestral scores the contrabass trombone often plays an octave below the bass or tenor trombone. It is given thematic tasks to perform as well as the fundamental bass in the four-part trombone section (Wagner, Verdi, Puccini, Strauss).

Combines with the tenor and bass trombones to form a polyphonic trombone section.

Trombone + trumpet
Trumpets blend well with trombones and give them a brighter sound.

Trombone + horn
Full and mellow overall sound, the trombone’s brassy sound is masked by the horns.

Contrabass trombone + tuba
Bass lines are possible in unison with the bass tuba, which has a very different timbre from the contrabass trombone. In Wagner’s Ring, in Richard Strauss and in Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder it also plays an octave above the bass tuba.

A mute reduces the disparity between the timbres of the contrabass trombone and the bass tuba.

Despite its different timbre the tuba has often been used for the bass part of the trombone section instead of the contrabass trombone, mainly in order to provide a solid foundation in tutti passages. Compared to the tuba the contrabass trombone sounds far more concise, definite and metallic.

Contrabass trombone + woodwinds

The combination with the contrabassoon and the bass clarinet produces a dark, warm, penetrating sound which is used especially for low bass lines.

AUDIO
  • Magnificent Journey (Contrabass trombone)
  • Solo for Contrabass trombone

Open External Player

Kontrabassposaune - Klangverbindungen

Kontrabassposaune + Blechblasinstrumente

Kontrabassposaune + Posaunen
In Orchesterpartituren als 4. Posaune notiert, spielt sie häufig die Unteroktave der Bass- bzw. Tenorbassposaune. Ihre werden thematische Aufgaben sowie die Fundamentalbassstimme im 4-stimmigen Posaunensatz zugewiesen (Wagner, Verdi, Puccini, Strauss).

Kombination mit Tenor- und Bassposaunen zu einem mehrstimmigen Posaunensatz.

Posaune + Trompete
Trompeten mischen sich gut mit den Posaunen und hellen deren Klang auf.

Posaune + Horn
Weicher und voller Gesamtklang, der Metallklang der Posaunen wird von den Hörnern gedeckt.

Kontrabassposaune + Tuba
Im Unisono mit der Basstuba, von deren Klang sich die Kontrabassposaune sehr unterscheidet, sind Basslinien möglich. In Wagners Ring, bei Richard Strauss und in den „Gurreliedern“ Schönbergs spielt sie auch die Oberoktave der Basstuba.

Ein Dämpfer gleicht den Klang der Kontrabassposaune dem der Basstuba an.

Die Tuba wurde und wird trotz des unterschiedlichen Klanges oft anstelle der Kontrabassposaune als Bass des Posaunenchores eingesetzt, vor allem um eine massive Grundierung des Klanges in Tutti-Stellen zu erreichen. Im Vergleich zur Tuba klingt die Kontrabassposaune jedoch viel konziser, konkreter und metallischer.

Kontrabassposaune + Holzblasinstrumente

Gemeinsam mit dem Kontrafagott und der Bassklarinette ergibt sich ein dunkler, warm durchdringender Klang, der vor allem für tiefe Basslinien genutzt wird.