AUDIO
  • Reverie - Bass & Piano
  • Bass performance
  • Basses performance

Open External Player

Sound combinations

Two tasks should be emphasized here: on the one hand the double-bass, as the fundamental bass instrument, is capable of particularly good tonal combinations with all the other instruments, especially with its smaller partner the cello and all harmony instruments as well. Its powerful sound must provide a solid foundation which can support the sound structure and with which the other instruments blend. It should not be overbearing. On the other hand it is also capable of playing melody lines, solo lines which stand out.

The greatest problem faced by the double-bass is its distance from the middle and upper voices.

Because of its construction the double-bass projects the first six partials particularly well, which results in a strong and broad sound that lacks the high properties responsible for brilliance and clarity. In orchestration it is important to take into consideration the fact that the double-bass’s relatively powerful partials can mask the fundamentals of comparatively soft instruments with few overtones such as the flute. The double-bass must therefore be used judiciously, and rests from time to time.

All stringed instruments form a group with a homogeneous overall sound and perform tasks ranging from the subtlest tonal effects to the most eloquent reinforcements of sound and from the greatest possible tonal compactness to the greatest possible diversity. The stringed instruments are the most homogeneous of all groups in the symphony orchestra. Since Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643) the strings have been the heart of the orchestra.

String sections
String sections in large orchestras are composed as follows:

  • 1st violins: 16
  • 2nd violins: 14
  • Violas: 12
  • Cellos: 10
  • Double-basses: 8.

In late romantic works – R. Wagner, G. Mahler, R. Strauss – and 20th century pieces the strings are divided into a large number of parts (divisi).

Divisi

Appears in the score when a string section is to play passages with two or more parts separately, in other words, the fourteen 1st violinists who are playing “one” part together are to divide into two groups on the instruction divisi so that one half plays the higher part and the other half the lower. In this way it is possible to divide the five string sections in the classical-romantic orchestra (1st violins, 2nd violins, violas, cellos and double-basses) into a great many different individual parts, a possibility that composers have made increasing use of since the end of the 19th century.

Double-bass and string orchestra

Double-bass section
Double-basses played divisi in octaves create an impression of dullness because the sound is augmented by scarcely any higher partials which would brighten it. In addition the partials of higher instruments are masked.

Double-bass + viola
The violas often play parallel to the double-basses and two octaves higher, reinforcing the latter’s partials. This is especially effective when the double-basses are in the lowest register. The acerbic character of this combination speaks for itself.

Double-bass + cello
Double-basses playing an octave below cellos is a “classic” combination. The bass voice in octaves it produces has the great virtue of retaining its credibility as a sustaining bass even at low volume; in other words it forms a bass foundation that always allows the other instruments to the fore. The cello brightens the relatively dull sound of the double-bass and tempers its roughness. Playing both instruments pizzicato produces a particularly resonant effect. The double-bass is often called upon to play pizzicato while the cello plays arco an octave above it.

Double-bass + harp
Produce an extremely resonant combination in unison as well as in chordal playing.

Double-bass and woodwinds

Double-bass + bass clarinet
The mellowness of the bass clarinet is similar to that of the double-bass. The overall effect is mellow and full-sounding. Combinations in unison and octaves are possible.

Double-bass + contrabassoon
In unison with the double-bass the contrabassoon reduces the thickness of the former’s sound and makes it more precise.

Double-bass + brass wind instruments

Double-bass + horn
The horn playing two or three octaves above the double-bass produces a mellow overall sound.

Double-bass + trombone
The trombone makes the double-bass sound more precise. A good effect is produced when the double-bass plays the trombone line an octave deeper.

Double-bass + tuba
The tuba played in unison with the double-bass broadens and reinforces the latter’s timbre.

Double-bass + percussion

Double-bass + timpani
The bow tremolo played fortissimo together with a roll on the timpani provides a rumbling background for tutti passages.

The double-bass’s function over time

From the days of J. S. Bach onward it became increasingly common to have the bass voice played by the cello and the double-bass an octave below it. In classical works this combination, by now traditional, performed the fundamental bass with no support from other instruments. In Beethoven’s music the double-bass slowly began to gain independence from the cello. Support for the double-bass as the fundamental bass instrument from the bass clarinet, contrabassoon, bass trombone and the bass and contrabass tubas did not arrive until the Romantic era when the orchestra began to expand.

During nearly 500 years of existence the double-bass has not been restricted solely to the performance of its principal role of deepest voice in the orchestra. In Viennese Classicism and from the end of the 19th century it was also entrusted with an increasing number of solo tasks. Composers such as Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel and Igor Stravinsky also used it in higher registers (harmonics) because of its distinctive timbre.

AUDIO
  • Reverie - Bass & Piano
  • Bass performance
  • Basses performance

Open External Player

Kontrabass - Klangverbindungen

Zwei Aufgaben sind zu betonen: Auf der einen Seite hat der Kontrabass als Fundamentbassinstrument die Fähigkeit, besonders gute Klangverbindungen zu allen Instrumenten herzustellen, besonders zu seinem kleineren Partner, dem Violoncello, aber auch zu allen Harmonieinstrumenten. Seine Klangkraft soll einen tragfähigen Untergrund bilden, auf dem die Klangsäule steht, ein Fundament, mit dem die anderen Instrumente verschmelzen. Er soll nicht hervortreten. Auf der anderen Seite hat er die Fähigkeit, eigene Linien zu spielen, Sololinien, die hervortreten.

Das besondere Problem des Kontrabasses ist die große Entfernung zu den Mittel- und Oberstimmen.

Der Klang des Kontrabasses strahlt aufgrund seiner Bauweise die ersten 6 Teiltöne besonders gut ab, das Ergebnis ist ein starker und breiter Klang, dem die hohen Komponenten, die für brillante Klarheit verantwortlich sind, fehlen. In der Instrumentation ist besonders zu beachten, dass die relativ stark klingenden Teiltöne des Kontrabasses die Grundtöne von relativ obertonarmen und schwach klingenden Instrumenten wie z.B. der Flöte maskieren können. Der Kontrabass ist also vorsichtig einzusetzen und pausiert zwischendurch.

Alle Streichinstrumente bilden eine klanglich homogene Gruppe, deren Aufgaben von zartesten Klangwirkungen bis zu expressivsten Klangmassierungen, von der größten Kompaktheit des Klanges bis zur weitesten Differenzierung reicht. Die Streichinstrumente sind die homogenste Klanggruppe des Symphonieorchesters. Die Streicher bilden seit Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643) das Zentrum des Orchesters.

Zur Besetzung des Streichorchesters
In großen Orchestern sind die Streicher wie folgt besetzt:

  • 1.Violinen: 16
  • 2. Violinen: 14
  • Bratschen: 12
  • Celli: 10
  • Kontrabässe: 8

Spätromantische Werke – R. Wagner, G. Mahler, R. Strauss – und Stücke des 20. Jahrhunderts zerteilen den Streicherklang in viele Stimmen (divisi).

Divisi

Erfolgt in der Partitur, wenn eine Streichersektion Passagen mit zwei oder mehr Stimmen gesondert spielen soll. Bei der Anweisung divisi teilen sich also die vierzehn 1. Violinisten, die "einen" Part zusammen spielen, in zwei Gruppen auf, von denen eine den höheren und die anderen den tieferen Part übernimmt. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, die fünf Streichersektionen des klassisch-romantischen Orchesters (1. Violinen, 2. Violinen, Violen, Celli und Kontrabässe) in mehrere verschiedene und unabhängige Parts zu unterteilen, eine Möglichkeit, von der Komponisten seit dem Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zunehmend Gebrauch gemacht haben.

Kontrabässe + Streichorchester

Kontrabassgruppe
Kontrabässe divisi oktavierend eingesetzt hinterlassen einen dumpfen Eindruck, da der Klang kaum höheren Teiltöne dazugewinnt, die den Klang aufhellen könnten. Darüber hinaus werden die Teiltöne höherer Instrumente verdeckt.

Kontrabässe+ Violen
Oft werden die Violen zwei Oktaven höher parallel zu den Kontrabässen geführt, deren Teiltöne verstärkend. Dies ist besonders wirksam, wenn sich die Kontrabässe im tiefsten Bereich bewegen. Der herbe Charakter dieser Klangverbindung spricht für sich.

Kontrabässe + Violoncelli
Die Klangverbindung der Kontrabässe mit den Violoncelli in der Oberoktave ist eine „klassische“. Ihr Vorzug liegt wohl darin, dass ein Oktavbassklang entsteht, der auch bei sehr geringem Klangvolumen als tragfähiger Bass glaubwürdig bleibt, d.h. es ist ein Bassfundament vorhanden, das die anderen Instrumente in jedem Fall „durchlässt“. Der Klang des Violoncellos hellt den relativ dumpfen Klang des Kontrabasses auf und nimmt ihm seine Rauheit. Beide Instrumente pizzicato gespielt ergeben eine resonanzreiche Klangwirkung. Oft wird der Kontrabass im Pizzicato geführt, während das Violoncello in der Oberoktave arco spielt.

Kontrabässe + Harfe
Ergeben sowohl im Unisono als auch in Akkorden eine sehr resonanzreiche Klangverbindung.

Kontrabässe + Holzblasinstrumente

Kontrabässe + Bassklarinette
Die Bassklarinette ist dem Kontrabassklang in seiner Weichheit ähnlich. Die Gesamtwirkung ist weich und voll. Möglich sind Unisono- und Oktavverbindungen.

Kontrabässe + Kontrafagott
Das Kontrafagott nimmt im Unisono dem Kontrabassklang seine Dicke und präzisiert ihn.

Kontrabässe + Blechblasinstrumente

Kontrabässe + Horn
Mit dem Horn zwei (oder drei) Oktaven über dem Kontrabass ergibt sich ein weicher Gesamtklang.

Kontrabässe + Posaune
Die Posaune präzisiert den Kontrabassklang. Eine gute Wirkung ergibt sich, wenn der Kontrabass eine Posaunenlinie eine Oktave tiefer mitspielt.

Kontrabässe + Tuba
Die Tuba im Unisono mit dem Kontrabass verbreitert und verstärkt den Kontrabassklang.

Kontrabässe + Schlagwerk

Kontrabässe + Pauke
Das Bogentremolo im ff gemeinsam mit einem Paukenwirbel sorgt in Tutti-Stellen für eine dröhnende Klangmasse im Untergrund.

Funktion des Kontrabasses im Wandel der Zeit

Seit J. S. Bachs Zeiten wurde es mehr und mehr üblich, die Bassstimme gemeinsam von Violoncello und Kontrabass in der Unteroktave ausführen zu lassen. In klassischen Werken führte diese inzwischen zur Tradition gewordene Instrumentenkombination ohne Unterstützung durch andere Instrumente den Fundamentalbass aus. In der Musik Beethovens beginnt sich der Kontrabass langsam vom Violoncello zu emanzipieren. Erst bei wachsendem Orchesterapparat in der romantischen Epoche wurde der Kontrabass als Fundamentalbassinstrument von der Bassklarinette, dem Kontrafagott, der Bassposaune und der Bass- und Kontrabasstuba unterstützt.

Im Verlauf seiner fast 500-jährigen Geschichte erfüllte der Kontrabass nicht nur seine historische Hauptaufgabe als tiefste Stimme des Orchesters. In der Zeit der Wiener Klassik und ab Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden ihm vermehrt auch solistische Aufgaben anvertraut. Komponisten wie Richard Strauss, Maurice Ravel und Igor Strawinsky setzten ihn wegen des besonderen Klanges auch in höheren Regionen ein (Flageolett).