AUDIO
  • Spirits Calling

Open External Player

Products including
Gong:


Sound production

Sound is produced either by striking the gong or rubbing it. A wide variety of different mallets is used. The gong is struck right in the center, in other words, on the knob, since it is here that the greatest volume and purest tone are produced.
The larger the gong, the heavier it is. To achieve the fullest-sounding tone greater force is required, which means that the mallets must also be larger and therefore heavier. Care should be taken always to the right mallet for each gong.

The pitch of the gong is always easily recognizable, whether the note is piano or fortissimo.

Depending on which kind of mallet is used (and on the dynamics) the gong sounds dark, metallic or majestic.

The gong’s dynamic range is smaller than that of many other percussion instruments (snare drum, tam-tam, etc.). The main reason for this is that at fortissimo levels the dynamics are limited; once a particular volume is reached the gong “overshoots” and loses volume. A large number of strong partials develop which detract from the sound.

AUDIO
  • Spirits Calling
  • Peculiar Percussion

Open External Player

Gong
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Gong - Tonerzeugung

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt durch Anschlag (oder Reiben). Hierbei werden verschiedenste Schlägel verwendet. Der Anschlagpunkt ist direkt in der Mitte, also auf dem Buckel, da hier das größte Volumen und der reinste Klang bewirkt werden.

Der Gong wird mit zunehmender Größe schwerer. Um dennoch einen voll tönenden Klang zu erreichen, muss eine stärkere Kraft aufgewendet werden, und die Schlägel müssen größer und folglich auch schwerer sein. (Es sollte auch immer ein Schlägel mit der richtigen Größe für den verwendeten Gong benutzt werden.)

Sowohl im Piano als auch im Fortissimo ist die Tonhöhe des Gongs immer klar erkennbar.

Je nach Schlägel (und Dynamik) klingt der Gong dunkel, metallisch oder majestätisch.

Das dynamische Spektrum der Gongs ist geringer als das vieler anderer Schlaginstrumente (Kleine Trommel, Tamtam, etc.). Dies liegt vor allem daran, dass die Dynamik im Fortissimo begrenzt ist: Ab einer gewissen Lautstärke „übersteuert“ der Gong und klingt nicht mehr mit seinem vollen Volumen. Es entstehen viele starke Teiltöne, die den Klang zerstören.