AUDIO
  • Breath of Dawn After Storm (Piccolo)
  • Sonata in G for piccolo
  • Souvenir de Reveillon (Piccolo)

Open External Player

Sound Production

Embouchure

Sound is produced according to the same principles as on the flute:
the flutist blows through the mouth hole (embouchure hole) and the stream of air that makes contact with the edge is cyclically directed outward and inward. This cyclically vibrating air stream is the sound generator and excites cyclic vibrations of the air column inside the flute’s cylindrical tube. The flutist uses tone holes and keys to shorten the vibrating air column, thus producing an increase in pitch. The sound is projected through the open lower end and the open keys.

It is the flutist’s lips that play the most important role; embouchure on the flute is highly individual. The shape of the lips, the position of the upper lip in relation to the lower lip, angle of the embouchure etc. are all decisive factors in intonation. There are so many flutists, so many different embouchures and consequently so many different means of expression.

Blowing strongly results in a higher pitch than blowing softly; this is true of all flutes. The flutist compensates for these differences by means of the embouchure.

Playing at piano levels

Playing the piccolo at the piano dynamic presents the musician with a number of difficulties which are peculiar to the instrument. Highly accomplished players can therefore be recognized by their ability to play quietly:

1. Trapped air (similar to double-reed instruments): because only a very small quantity of air is blown into the embouchure the musician does not exhale completely and an excess of air builds up in the lungs. This means that piccolo players are often left gasping more than a tuba player during their rests (-:

2. High notes are difficult to play softly because they require a particularly firm and focused blast of air. Thus, a piano F#7 and G7 are very hard to play and the higher notes are practically impossible to play quietly; the highest notes (B7 and C8) can only be played fortissimo.

AUDIO
  • Breath of Dawn After Storm (Piccolo)
  • Sonata in G für Piccoloflöte
  • Souvenir de Reveillon (Piccoloflöte)

Open External Player

Piccoloflöte - Tonerzeugung

Anblasen

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt nach denselben Prinzipien wie bei der Großen Flöte:

Der/die FlötistIn bläst durch das Mundloch (Anblasloch), wobei der auf die Kante treffende Luftstrahl periodisch nach außen und innen gelenkt wird. Dieser periodisch schwingende Luftstrahl (Luftblatt) ist der Tongenerator und regt die von Zylinderrohr der Flöte umschlossene Luftsäule zu periodischen Schwingungen an. Durch Grifflöcher und Klappen verkürzt der/die SpielerIn die schwingende Luftsäule im Inneren der Flöte, wodurch eine Tonerhöhung bewirkt wird. Der Klang wird am unteren offenen Ende und an den offenen Klappen abgestrahlt.

Die wichtigste Rolle spielen dabei die Lippen des/der FlötistIn. Der Ansatz gestaltet sich bei der Flöte sehr individuell: Form der Lippen, Stellung der Oberlippe zur Unterlippe, Anblaswinkel etc. sind entscheidende Faktoren für die Tongebung. Scharfes Anblasen ergibt einen höheren Ton als weiches Anblasen (dies ist charakteristisch für alle Flöten), der/die FlötistIn gleicht diese Unterschiede durch den Ansatz aus.

Spielen im Piano

PiccoloflötistInnen stehen beim Spiel im Piano einigen besonderen Schwierigkeiten gegenüber. Exzellente SpielerInnen sind daher an ihrer Fähigkeit, leise zu spielen, zu erkennen:

1. Luftstau (ähnlich wie bei den Doppelrohrblattinstrumenten): Da nur sehr wenig Luft in das Mundloch geblasen wird, atmet der Spieler nicht vollständig aus, was zu einem Rückstau in den Lungen führt. Daher „schnaufen“ PiccoloflötistInnen in Spielpausen oft mehr als ein Tubist (-:

2. Hohe Töne im Piano sind schwierig zu spielen, da der Luftstrom gerade bei diesen Tönen besonders stark und fokussiert sein muss. So sind fis4 und g4 im Piano schon sehr schwer zu erzeugen, bei noch höheren Tönen ist ein leises Spielen kaum möglich. Die höchsten Töne (h4 und c5) sind nur mehr im Fortissimo möglich.