AUDIO
  • Symphony No. 3 - Scherzo
  • The Perpetrator - Timpani

Open External Player

Products including
Timpani:


Notation

Modern-day notation

Non-transposing, always in bass clef.

Detailed and precise notation of the dynamic behavior of the timpani part is recommended due to the instrument’s enormous dynamic range. It must also always be borne in mind that the timpani can drown out other instruments.

Since the middle of the 19th century instructions as to the type of mallet to be used have become increasingly common in scores. In the 20th century changes of mallet began to be precisely indicated by individual symbols. This system applies not only to the timpani but to all the other percussion instruments as well.

Historical notation

Until about 1800 timpani were transposing instruments. The notes were notated in bass clef as C and G with no accidentals, regardless of the key the piece was in. At the beginning of the score the actual sounded notes of the timpani were written: timpani in C and G, Bb and F, D and A.

This made sense for as long as the timpani only played the tonic and the dominant; it was also the reason for which the large kettledrum was also called the G drum while the small one was known as the C drum. When other notes began to be demanded – from Beethoven – composers began notating the actual pitch.

AUDIO
  • Sinfonie Nr. 3 - Scherzo
  • The Perpetrator - Timpani

Open External Player

Pauken
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Pauke - Notation

Moderne Notation

Nichttransponierend immer im Bassschlüssel.

Eine detaillierte und präzise Notation des dynamischen Verlaufs der Paukenstimme ist zu empfehlen, da die Pauke eine enorme dynamische Bandbreite zu bieten hat. Auch die Fähigkeit, andere Instrumente zu übertönen, muss beachtet werden.

Seit der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts werden in Partituren vermehrt Angaben über die Art der Schlägel gemacht. Im 20.Jahrhundert werden Schlägelwechsel mittels eigener Schlägelsymbole präzise notiert. Dies gilt für die Pauken sowie auch für alle anderen Schlaginstrumente.

Historische Notation

Bis um etwa 1800 wurden die Pauken transponierend notiert. Die Töne wurden im Bassschlüssel und ohne Vorzeichen als C und G notiert, egal in welcher Tonart das Stück stand. Am Beginn des Stückes wurde der tatsächliche Klang der Pauken dazugeschrieben: Timpani in C und G, B und F, D und A.

Dies war solange sinnvoll, als die Pauken nur Tonika und Dominante zu spielen hatten. Deswegen nannte man die größere Pauke auch G-Pauke, die kleinere C-Pauke. Als – seit Beethoven – auch andere Töne verlangt wurden, begannen die Komponisten klingend zu notieren.