AUDIO
  • The Crown Coronation (Trumpet)
  • The Wind-up Toy Soldier (Trumpet)
  • Meditation
  • Mystic Voices
  • Trumpet sonata
  • The Dancing Clown (Trumpets)

Open External Player

Notation

Modern notation

Music for modern trumpets is written in treble clef (for the bass trumpet too!).

The trumpet in C is a non-transposing instrument, i.e. the sound is as written.

The other two standard trumpets sound lower than written: the trumpet in Bb sounds a major second lower, the trumpet in A a minor third lower.

All the other modern trumpets, that means the higher-pitched piccolo trumpets in D, Eb, E, F, G, Ab and high Bb sound higher than written – the trumpet in D sounds a major second higher, the trumpet in high Bb a minor seventh.

This notation was also customary for the natural and long valve trumpets of the Classical and Romantic periods.

No key signature at the beginning of the score

Unlike other transposing instruments such as the clarinet, the trumpet part – like that of the horns and timpani – has always been written without key signature at the beginning of the staff. This tradition dates back to the very beginnings of orchestral music and is still maintained today.

Performing older trumpet parts

In 19th century scores the modern trumpeter often finds himself confronted with parts written for the long valve trumpets usual at the time (in A, Bb, C, D, Eb, E, F, G and Ab). Nowadays, these parts are played by the modern trumpet, since modern instruments have much the same compass as the old ones did.

Although the tubing of the old trumpets was twice as long as that of today’s instruments, the playable range was more or less the same because the two deepest naturals did not speak and the wider bore enabled overblowing to the 16th natural. However, the sound of the old valve and natural trumpets was extremely powerful and full.

If the instrument playing the part (which is usually a trumpet in Bb or C) is in a different key from the notation the modern trumpeter must transpose accordingly. In 19th century scores the F trumpet is very often called for on account of its particularly pleasing timbre. If a part written for a trumpet in F is to be played on a trumpet in C the musician must transpose to C.

AUDIO
  • The Crown Coronation (Trumpet)
  • The Wind-up Toy Soldier (Trumpet)
  • Meditation
  • Mystic Voices
  • Trompetensonate
  • The Dancing Clown (Trumpets)

Open External Player

Trompete in C - Notation

Moderne Notation

Die modernen Trompeten werden im Violinschlüssel notiert (auch die Basstrompete!).

Die Trompete in C wird nicht transponierend notiert, d.h. der Klang entspricht der Notation.

Der Klang der zwei anderen Normaltrompeten ist tiefer als die Notation: Die Trompete in B klingt um eine große Sekund, die Trompete in A um eine kleine Terz tiefer als notiert.

Alle anderen modernen Trompeten, d.h. die höhergestimmten Piccolotrompeten in D, Es, E, F, G, As und hoch B, klingen höher als notiert – die Trompete in D um eine große Sekund, die Trompete in hoch B um eine kleine Septim.

Diese Notation war auch bei den Natur- und langen Ventiltrompeten der Klassik und Romantik üblich.

Keine Tonartbezeichnung am Anfang der Partitur

Im Gegensatz zu anderen transponierenden Instrumenten wie z. B den Klarinetten wurde die Trompetenstimme – gleich wie die Hörner und die Pauken – seit der Frühzeit des Orchesters immer ohne Tonartvorzeichnung notiert. Diese Tradition ist bis heute erhalten geblieben.

Ausführen älterer Trompetenstimmen

Der moderne Trompeter wird in Partituren des 19. Jahrhunderts häufig mit Trompetenparten für die damaligen langen Ventiltrompeten (in A, B, C, D, Es, E, F, G und As) konfrontiert. Diese Parte werden heute mit den modernen Trompeten ausgeführt, da der Tonumfang der alten und neuen Trompeten in etwa gleich ist.

Das Rohr der alten Trompeten war zwar doppelt so lang wie das der heutigen Instrumente, die spielbare Tonskala jedoch ungefähr dieselbe, da in der Tiefe die ersten zwei Naturtöne nicht ansprachen und die weitere Mensur in der Höhe ein Überblasen bis zum 16. Naturton möglich machte. Die alten Ventil- und auch Naturtrompeten besaßen jedoch einen gewaltigen, substanzreichen Klang.

Entspricht die Stimmung des ausführenden Instrumentes (meist eine Trompete in B oder C) nicht der Stimmung der notierten Stimme, so muss der moderne Trompeter entsprechend transponieren. In Partituren des 19. Jahrhunderts wird aufgrund ihres besonders schönen Klanges sehr oft die F-Trompete vorgeschrieben. Soll eine Stimme für eine Trompete in F auf einer Trompete in C gespielt werden, muss der Trompeter nach C transponieren.