AUDIO
  • Heart's Ease - Viola & Piano
  • Lullaby - Viola & Piano
  • Swans first flight
  • Violas performance

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > STRINGS > Viola > Sound Production

Sound production

Sound is produced by moving the bow over the string or by plucking it with the right hand. Pitch alterations are achieved by pressing down the string with the fingertips of the left hand on the fingerboard. This shortens the vibrating portion of the string and raises the pitch.

Fingering

Change of string and change of position

Four strings with an interval of a fifth are available: C3 (4th string), G3 (3rd string), D4 (2nd string), A4 (1st string).

VA_sound-production_openstrings_en_430x123

During playing the left hand plays in various positions.

In 1st position the hand is at the uppermost end of the fingerboard in front of the top nut. No strings are fingered, since 1st position includes open strings.

In the 2nd position the forefinger is a diatonic degree nearer the bridge, i.e. a whole tone higher. By climbing one diatonic degree at a time toward the bridge the musician reaches the next position. 8th position is an octave higher than 1st .

VA_sound-production_Cstring_5pos_en_607x201

Lower positions are much easier to play than higher ones. In each position each finger (the forefinger is the 1st, the middle finger the 2nd, the ring finger the 3rd and the little finger the 4th) covers one diatonic degree, that means that a partial scale of a fourth is playable on each string. Chromatic notes (raising or lowering the diatonic degree concerned) are played by the finger responsible for the corresponding diatonic degree.

An example of the same note played on two strings – with the effect of reinforcing the sound:

VA_sound-production_double_stop_1note_111x51.png

A few examples for double stops:

VA_sound-production_double_stops_en_607x121

The fingering and bowing of the viola is the same as on the violin, albeit with a few restrictions:

  1. The fingers must spread further due to the instrument’s larger proportions.
  2. Because its soundbox is bigger the viola cannot reach such high positions as the violin. Generally speaking the 5th position is the highest reached on the three bottom strings (C, G, and D strings), while the 8th position (or in extreme circumstances the 11th) is the maximum on the top string (A). Prolonged playing in high positions is difficult because it is relatively hard for the left hand to reach the part of the fingerboard above the soundbox.
  3. The same double and multiple stops are playable on the viola as on the violin. These are a fifth lower, in keeping with the instrument’s tuning. Double stops that require a wide spread (up to the octave) should be avoided. Quadruple stops in high positions are particularly difficult and are not called for in orchestra literature.

AUDIO
  • Heart's Ease - Viola & Piano
  • Schlaflied für Viola und Klavier
  • Swans first flight
  • Violas performance

Open External Player

Viola - Tonerzeugung

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt durch Streichen der Saite mit dem Bogen oder durch Zupfen (rechte Hand). Die Tonhöhenänderung durch Niederdrücken der Saite mit den Fingerspitzen der linken Hand. Dadurch wird der schwingende Teil der Saite verkürzt und der Ton erhöht.

Griffsystem

Saitenwechsel und Lagenwechsel

4 Saiten im Quintabstand stehen zur Verfügung: c (4.Saite), g (3.Saite), d1 (2.Saite), a1 (1.Saite).

VA_sound-production_openstrings_de_430x123

Die linke Hand nimmt während des Spielens verschiedene Positionen auf dem Griffbrett ein. Diese Positionen werden als Lagen bezeichnet.

Bei der 1. Lage befindet sich die Hand am obersten Rand des Griffbretts – vor dem Obersattel. Die Finger drücken noch keine Seiten nieder – diese Lage schließt die leeren Saiten mit ein.

Bei der 2. Lage befindet sich der Zeigefinger eine diatonische Stufe weiter zum Steg hin, d.h. einen Ganzton höher. Durch Verschieben um jeweils eine diatonische Stufe in Richtung Steg gelangt der/die SpielerIn in die nächsthöhere Lage. Die 8. Lage klingt eine Oktave höher als die erste.

VA_sound-production_Cstring_5pos_de_607x201

Tiefere Lagen sind wesentlich leichter zu spielen als höhere. Innerhalb einer Lage deckt jeder Spielfinger (der Zeigefinger ist der 1., der Mittelfinger der 2., der Ringfinger der 3. und der kleine Finger der 4. Finger) eine diatonische Stufe ab, das bedeutet, ein Skalenausschnitt von einer Quart ist ohne Lagenwechsel auf einer Saite spielbar. Chromatische Töne (Erniedrigungen oder Erhöhungen der jeweiligen diatonischen Stufe) werden von jenem Finger übernommen, der für die entsprechende diatonische Stufe zuständig ist.

Beispiel: der selbe Ton auf 2 Saiten gegriffen – Effekt der Klangverstärkung:

VA_sound-production_double_stop_1note_111x51

Beispiele für Doppelgriffe:

VA_sound-production_double_stops_de_607x121

Die Viola unterscheidet sich weder griff- noch bogentechnisch von der Violine.
Es gelten jedoch einige Einschränkungen gegenüber der Violine:

  1. Aufgrund der größeren Mensur sind größere Griffabstände zu berücksichtigen.
  2. Wegen des größeren Resonanzkörpers können nicht so hohe Lagen wie auf der Violine erreicht werden. Auf den drei tiefsten Saiten (C-, G-, und D-Saite) wird in der Regel bis zur 5. Lage gespielt, auf der höchsten Saite (A-Saite) geht das Spiel bis in die 8. Lage (im Extremfall bis in die 11. Lage). Längeres Spiel in hohen Lagen ist deswegen schwierig, da es für die linke Hand relativ schwer ist, den Teil des Griffbrettes zu erreichen, der sich über dem Resonanzkörper befindet.
  3. Auf der Viola sind dieselben Doppel- und Mehrfachgriffe ausführbar wie auf der Violine, nur eine Quint tiefer, wie es ihrer Stimmung entspricht. Weitgespannte Doppelgriffe (bis zur Oktave) sollten vermieden werden. Quadrupelgriffe in hohen Positionen sind besonders schwierig und werden in der Orchesterliteratur nicht verlangt.