AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violin & Orchestra
  • Violin concerto II Andante - Violin & Orchestra
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violin & Orchestra
  • Solo violin - mute
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player

Construction

violin_construction_303x387.png

1 scroll
2 peg box
3 peg holes
4 pegs
5 neck
6 nut
7 fingergoard
8 bridge
9 tailpiece
10 saddle
11 end button

BELLY
12 top plate
13 sound hole (f-hole)
14 purfling
15 bass bar
16 ribs 
16a lower bout
16b middle bout
16c upper bout
17 corner block
18 back plate
19 sound post

The body

The body is made of slow-growing wood of even density, since this type of wood offers the best resonance. Spruce is used for the belly, maple for the back and ribs.

To make the belly a wedge is cut out of a piece of spruce and split down the middle to form two symmetrical parts. These are then glued together so that the older wood – where the rings are closer together – are in the middle. This flat piece of wood is planed to a thickness of about 3 mm in the middle and progessively thinner toward the edges to form a vault. The F-holes that are cut into the belly help it to vibrate near the bridge and improve the projection of sound from the body’s interior. The back is made in a similar way, either from one or two pieces of maple. The curved ribs join the belly to the back and consist of the upper bout, middle bout and lower bout. The body is given added stability by the top block, lower block and four corner blocks inside. The edges of the belly and back are inlaid with pearwood or ebony to strengthen the joins; this inlay is called purfling. There has been a lot of discussion regarding the effect that varnishing the body has on the sound; what is certain is that it offers the body protection against changes in temperature and humidity.

Head, neck and fingerboard

The head and neck are carved from a single piece of maple. The neck is firmly dovetailed with the top block and is about 13 cm long. The fingerboard is solid ebony, joined to the neck and projecting over the belly. Older fingerboards, from around 1700, were only about 20 cm long and therefore rather shorter than today’s 27 cm. The strings are parallel to the fingerboard.

Strings

The lowest string is the G string which is usually made of gut and wound with silver or copper wire. The D and A strings are made either of gut or plastic and are aluminum-wound, the E string is normally made of steel. So that the tension of the four strings is more or less equal, which is very important for the projection of the sound, strings with different diameters or gauges are used. The E string is pulled a little tighter than the others in order to achieve the brilliance required of it.

Bridge, bass bar and soundpost

The bridge is positioned between the F-holes and is made of maple, 30 mm high and 40 mm wide. The pressure of the strings presses it against the belly. The bridge transmits the vibrations of the strings to the belly via two small feet. Even the smallest changes to height, thickness, shape or position on the belly influence the sound. Earlier models were much more robust than today’s.

The bass bar is a 28 cm long and 5 mm wide piece of wood (maple or fir) glued lengthwise on the inside of the belly under the left foot of the bridge (G string) and transmits the vibrations of the bridge’s left foot, the low notes, to the belly.

The soundpost, a 6 mm thick rod made of spruce, is placed next to the bridge’s right foot and wedged between the back and the belly. Because of its vital importance to the instrument’s sound it is often called the “soul” of the violin. Its task is to transfer the top string’s vibrations to the back. Even the smallest changes to its position influence the sound.

Additional parts

The mute (sordino) can be made of a wide variety of materials: wood, rubber, plastic, leather or brass. It is placed on the bridge and has the effect of reducing the projection of the higher partials with a frequency of over 2000 hertz. As a result, the brightness and loudness of the sound is reduced.

The chin rest, which is made of wood or plastic, and the shoulder rest, made of fabric, support the instrument in such a way as to allow the violinist’s left hand greater freedom of movement and prevent the shoulder from damping the vibrations.

Scaling

Scaling refers to the violin’s proportions, i.e. the ratio of the distance between the nut and the neck bracket to the distance between neck bracket and bridge on the one hand and the vibrating string on the other.

Today a ratio of 2:3 between neck and belly is regarded as the ideal. The term, however, also refers to the overall size of the instrument: standard-sized violins are referred to as 4/4 violins, smaller models with scaling of 7/8 are made for players with smaller hands; for children, the scaling can be reduced to 1/16. This has the advantage of reducing the distances on the fingerboard while maintaining the tuning, making it easier for smaller hands to play.

AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violine & Orchester
  • Violinkonzert II Andante - Violine & Orchester
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violine & Orchester
  • Solovioline - con sordino
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player

Violine - Bauweise

violin_construction_303x387.png

1 Schnecke
2 Wirbelkasten
3 Wirbellöcher
4 Wirbel
5 Hals
6 Obersattel
7 Griffbrett
8 Steg
9 Saitenhalter
10 Untersattel
11 Saitenhalterknopf

KORPUS
12 Decke
13 F-Loch
14 Flödel (Einlage)
15 Bassbalken
16 Zargenkranz 
16a Unterbügel
16b Mittelbügel
16c Oberbügel
17 Eckklotz

18 Boden
19 Stimmstock

Der Korpus

Der Korpus wird aus langsam gewachsenem Holz von gleichmäßiger Dichte gefertigt, da dieses die besten Resonanzeigenschaften hat. Die Decke wird aus Fichtenholz, der Boden und die Zargen aus Ahornholz gemacht.

Für die Herstellung der Decke wird aus einem Fichtenstamm ein Keil herausgesägt, der in der Mitte geteilt wird. Die beiden symmetrischen Teile werden zusammengeleimt, so dass sich in der Mitte die engeren Jahresringe befinden. Aus dieser Platte wird eine Wölbung ausgehobelt, wobei das Holz in der Mitte etwa 3 mm dick ist und zu den Rändern hin dünner wird. Die in die Decke geschnittenen F-Löcher erhöhen die Schwingungsfähigkeit der Decke in der Nähe des Steges und die Schallabstrahlung aus dem Inneren des Korpus. Ähnlich wird der Boden hergestellt, entweder aus einem oder zwei Teilen Ahornholz. Die gebogenen Zargen verbinden Decke und Boden und bestehen aus Ober-, Mittel- und Unterbügel, als Verstärkung dienen der Ober- und Unterklotz und vier Eckklötze im Inneren des Korpus. Entlang der Ränder von Decke und Boden laufen Adern: Einlegearbeiten aus Birnbaum- oder Ebenholz, die der Absicherung der Randbereiche dienen. Über die Bedeutung des Lacks für den Klang wurde viel spekuliert. Sicher ist, dass er den Korpus vor klimatischen Einflüssen schützt.

Kopf, Hals und Griffbrett

Kopf und Hals sind aus einem Stück Ahorn geschnitzt. Der Hals ist mit dem Oberklotz fest verzahnt. Seine Länge beträgt etwa 13 cm. Das Griffbrett aus massivem Ebenholz ist mit dem Hals verbunden und schwebt über einem Teil der Decke. Ältere Griffbretter – um 1700 – waren mit ca. 20 cm wesentlich kürzer als heutige mit rund 27 cm Länge. Die Saiten laufen parallel zum Griffbrett.

Saiten

Die tiefste Saite, die G-Saite, ist meist aus Darm und mit Silber- oder Kupferdraht umsponnen, die D- und die A-Saite entweder aus Darm oder Kunststoff und mit Aluminium umsponnen, die E-Saite ist meist aus Stahl. Um die Spannung der vier Saiten etwa gleich zu halten, was für eine gleichmäßige Übertragung des Klanges sehr wichtig ist, werden Saiten mit unterschiedlichen Durchmessern verwendet. Die Spannung der E-Saite ist jedoch leicht erhöht, was ihr erst die gewünschte Brillanz verleiht.

Steg, Bassbalken und Stimmstock

Zwischen den F-Löchern ist der Steg aus Ahornholz positioniert, 30 mm hoch und 40 mm breit, und wird durch den Saitendruck an die Decke gedrückt. Er überträgt die Saitenschwingungen über zwei kleine Füße auf die Decke. Kleinste Änderungen seiner Höhe, Dicke, Schnittform und seiner Position auf der Decke wirken sich auf den Klang aus. Ältere Modelle waren wesentlich robuster als heutige.

Der Bassbalken ist ein 28 cm langes und 5 mm breites Stück aus Ahorn- oder Tannenholz. Er ist unter dem linken Fuß des Steges (G-Saite) an der Innenseite der Decke länglich aufgeleimt und überträgt die Schwingungen des linken Stegfußes, die tiefen Töne, auf die Decke.

Der Stimmstock, ein 6 mm dicker Stab aus Fichtenholz, wird neben den rechten Stegfuß gesetzt und zwischen Boden und Decke geklemmt. Wegen seiner Bedeutung für den Klang wird er oft als die „Seele“ der Violine bezeichnet. Er überträgt die Schwingungen der hohen Saite auf den Boden. Bereits kleinste Veränderungen seiner Position wirken sich auf das Klangbild aus.

Ergänzende Teile

Der Dämpfer (Sordino) kann aus den verschiedensten Materialien hergestellt sein: Holz, Gummi, Plastik, Leder oder Messing. Er wird auf den Steg aufgesetzt, wodurch dessen Übertragungsfähigkeit für die höheren Teiltöne (über 2000 Hertz Schwingungsfrequenz) reduziert wird. Dadurch verliert der Violinklang an Helligkeit und Lautstärke.

Der Kinnhalter, aus Holz oder Kunststoff, und die Schulterstütze aus Stoff stützen das Instrument, so dass die linke Hand der ViolinistInnen in ihrer Bewegungsfreiheit gefördert wird. Darüber hinaus wird die dämpfende Einfluss der Schulter vermieden.

Mensur

Die Längenverhältnisse zwischen Obersattel und Halsansatz und zwischen Halsansatz und Steg einerseits und der schwingendend Saite andererseits werden als Mensur bezeichnet. Als ideal gilt heute das Verhältnis 2:3 zwischen Hals- und Deckenteil. Ist die „ganze“ Violine (4/4-Mensur) die normale Größe, so werden für SpielerInnen mit kleineren Händen Violinen in 7/8-Mensur und noch kleinere Mensuren für Kinder angeboten (bis zu 1/16-Mensur). Der Vorteil dabei ist, dass bei gleicher Stimmung die Abstände auf dem Griffbrett geringer werden und von kleineren Händen leichter gegriffen werden können.