AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violin & Orchestra
  • Violin concerto II Andante - Violin & Orchestra
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violin & Orchestra
  • Solo violin - mute
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > STRINGS > Violin > Sound Characteristics

Sound characteristics

Full, lively, singing, eloquent, introspective, supernatural, sensuous, lustrous, bright, metallic, vibrant, clear, glassy, flute-like, shrill, brilliant, sparkling, calm, thin, whistling, round, pure, muffled, solemn, austere, dark, muted, open, sustaining, rough, wafting, soft, sweet, merry, dancing, veiled.

The differences in the violin’s sound – and those of stringed instruments in general – result from a combination of the following factors: string thickness (diameter or gauge), choice of string, point of contact of the bow, bowing speed and bow pressure. These factors determine the level of oscillation of certain partial vibrations, i.e. the timbre. Which of these tonal options he or she uses is up to the violinist. The sound characteristics of the violin are therefore not predetermined; no single timbre predominates in any register. It is the musician who gives the instrument the timbre he or she desires.

Open strings sound brighter than fingered ones. Sometimes this extra brightness is exploited, sometimes it is avoided to maintain the homogeneity of a line.
Frequent changes between strings reduce the need for changes of position (timbre is altered); conversely, frequent changes of position mean fewer changes between strings (timbre is more homogeneous).

Because of the lack of partials, harmonics have a flute-like sound which is thinner than the normal note. Natural harmonics sound louder than artificial ones. Harmonics can not only be played pp and p but also ff.

Sound characteristics of the individual strings

G string (G3–C5, G5)
Dark and sonorous in the low register with a tendency toward roughness. Highly expressive and soulful cantilenas can be expected in the high register. The sound becomes more intense.

D string (D4–G5, D6)
Very full sounding and mellow. The string’s pitch corresponds to the human voice and is used for melodious cantilenas.

A string (A4–D6, A6)
More mellow than the D string.

E string (E5–A7, D8)
Lustrous and metallic, dominates lower-pitched middle voices. Very bright in the upper register though less full sounding. Its brightness makes it more audible.

The division of an instrument’s entire range into registers conveniently describes those areas of the human voice and of wind instruments that have the same timbre. However, for the violin in particular and for stringed instruments in general the concept of different registers as a description of areas of varying timbre with a definite lower and upper boundary and which are bound to a particular register is less appropriate. This does not mean that the violin only has one timbre on offer; on the contrary, it possesses a quite extraordinary range of different timbres. The many different timbres and sound characteristics cannot be categorically ascribed to a particular register, however, but are the result of the choice of string on the one hand and the playing technique employed on the other, i.e. the various sound characteristics are found over the instrument’s entire range. The underlying sound of the violin is homogeneous in all registers.

AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violine & Orchester
  • Violinkonzert II Andante - Violine & Orchester
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violine & Orchester
  • Solovioline - con sordino
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player

Violine - Klangcharakter

Voll, beseelt, singend, ausdrucksvoll, verinnerlicht, transzendent, übersinnlich, sinnlich, glänzend, hell, metallisch, vibrierend, klar, gläsern, flötenartig, scharf, schillernd, glitzernd, ruhig, schrill, dünn, pfeifend, rund, rein, gedeckt, getragen, herb, dunkel, gedämpft, offen, tragend, getragen, rau, schwebend, sanft, süß, fröhlich, tänzerisch, verschleiert.

Die Kombination folgender Faktoren ist für Unterschiede im Klangcharakter der Violine – von Streichinstrumenten überhaupt – verantwortlich: die Saitendicke, die Wahl der Saite, die Kontaktstelle des Bogens, die Bogengeschwindigkeit und der Bogendruck. Diese Faktoren bestimmen, wie stark bestimmte Teilschwingungen zum Schwingen angeregt werden, d.h., welche Klangfarbe daraus resultiert. Es liegt in der Hand des/der Geigers/in, bewusst aus diesen Klangmöglichkeiten auszuwählen. Für den Klangcharakter der Violine gilt folgende Schlussfolgerung: In einem bestimmten Tonhöhenbereich (Lage) ist nicht eine einzige Klangfarbe vorherrschend, sondern die GeigerInnen bestimmen durch ihr Spiel die Klangfarbe.

Leere Saiten klingen heller als gegriffene. Manchmal wird das ausgenutzt, manchmal auch vermieden, um die Homogenität einer Linie nicht zu gefährden.
Häufige Saitenwechsel reduzieren den Lagenwechsel (Klangfarbe ändert sich), häufige Lagenwechsel reduzieren den Saitenwechsel (Klangfarbe ist eher homogen).

Flageolett klingt dünner als normaler Ton, flötenähnlich, wegen des Teiltonmangels. Natürliches Flageolett klingt stärker als künstliches. Flageolett ist nicht nur pp und pspielbar, sondern auch ff.

Klangcharakter der Saiten

G-Saite (g–c2, g2)
Gibt im tieferen Bereich einen dunklen und sonoren Klang, der eine Tendenz zu einer gewissen Rauhigkeit haben kann. Im höheren Bereich sind ausdrucksintensive und seelenvolle Kantilenen zu erwarten. Die Intensität des Klangs nimmt zu.

D-Saite (d1–g2, d3)
Sehr klangvoll und weich. Der Klang dieser Saite bewegt sich im melodischen Bereich der menschlichen Stimme und wird für gesangvolle Kantilenen eingesetzt. 

A-Saite (a1–d3, a3)
Klingt weicher als die D-Saite.

E-Saite (e2–a4, d5)
Klingt glänzend und metallisch, setzt sich gegen tiefere Mittelstimmen durch. Im hohen Bereich sehr heller Klang, weniger voll. Aufgrund seiner Helligkeit setzt sich auch dieser Klang durch.

Die Einteilung der Gesamtskala eines Instrumentes in Register beschreibt bei der menschlichen Stimme und bei Blasinstrumenten die Zonen gleicher Klangfarbe in nachvollziehbarer Weise. Bei der Violine im Besonderen und bei Streichinstrumenten überhaupt ist das Konzept der verschiedenen Register weniger geeignet zur Beschreibung verschiedener Klangfarbenzonen, die eine untere und obere Grenze haben und an eine bestimmte Lage gebunden sind. Das soll nicht heißen, dass die Violine nur eine Klangfarbe „drauf“ hat, im Gegenteil, das Spektrum an verschiedenen Klangfarben ist außerordentlich groß: Die vielen Klangfarben und Klangcharaktere sind jedoch weniger einer bestimmte Lage zuzuordnen, sondern verdanken sich zum einen der gewählten Saite und zum anderen der Spieltechnik, d.h. die verschiedenen Klangfarben verteilen sich auf die Gesamtskala des Instrumentes. Der Grundcharakter der Violinskala homogen.