> Hello iLok
iLok

Switching from eLicenser to iLok

Hello there! We’re excited to enter a new era of easy installation procedures, license management, and using our products with or without a physical USB key!

With our new Vienna Assistant, iLok’s options to activate your licenses in the Cloud or on the iLok Key, and lots of other improvements, we’ve streamlined the entire process from purchasing to playing so you can focus on what really matters, your music!

What’s more, we’re offering Free Instruments that will enable you to try out everything, including our Vienna Synchron Player!

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.


Your Steps to iLok

We’re offering the conversion to iLok licenses in stages, like boarding a plane in groups, to prevent congestion. Users who purchase now or have purchased recently will be the first who can deposit their licenses on their iLok account, since all new purchases require iLok authorization.

1. If you don’t have a an iLok account, create one for free and verify it.

2. Download and install the latest iLok License Manager.

3. Register your iLok User ID at MyVSL.

4. Transfer your licenses to your iLok account by clicking the green “Deposit” button.

5. Open the iLok License Manager on your computer and activate your licenses. You can place your licenses either on a physical iLok Key (iLok 2 or iLok 3) or in the iLok Cloud (except for Free Instruments whose authorization can only be machine-based or key-based). For key-less activation in the Cloud, please click “File”, then select “Open Cloud Session".

6. Use our new Vienna Assistant to download and install all of your software products and sample libraries. Instead of downloading, you may also opt to order the Vienna Hard Drive that contains the installer files of all library and software products. Please note that the iLok compatible software applications will replace the eLicenser versions on your computer. The library content you will install contains all previous library and preset updates, so you’ll have the most current version on your system. The Vienna Assistant offers an option to delete your old eLicenser protected libraries (i.e., the sample content) to save space.

7. Open and save your existing projects.
After you have installed all iLok compatible software components and sample content, open the project in your DAW. When your computer is online, the VSL part of your project will be converted in the background. Then save the project again and you’re done. When your music computer is offline, you need to connect your ViennaKey/USB eLicenser with the corresponding licenses to open and save your project. The online solution guarantees that you will always be able to convert your projects in years to come, without the need to keep intact physical eLicenser keys.

Please find more details, videos, and FAQs here.

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.

Continued Usage of eLicenser

eLicenser authorized software and library products will keep on working on existing systems. The Vienna Protection Plan will continue to be active for the rest of its term. You can use your eLicenser licenses as long as you like, and as long as the eLicenser Control Center and the latest available eLicenser compatible VSL Software and libraries are running on your operating system.

However, Steinberg’s eLicenser License Server will not be available forever. Once it shuts down, license downloads to and license transfers between ViennaKeys/USB eLicensers will no longer be possible. Even after the eLicenser License Server has gone, you will be able to use our eLicenser authorized products on your computer, with your eLicenser key plugged in, for as long as it works under your computer’s operating system.

eLicenser compatible content will remain available for download in your MyVSL area and can be retrieved using the classic Vienna Download Manager. It can’t be installed using the new Vienna Assistant.

Please note that you can’t use both the eLicenser and the iLok version of a software application (e.g., Vienna Synchron Player) on the same computer. Technically, you could run the eLicenser version of one software (e.g., Vienna Instruments Pro) and the iLok version of another software (e.g., Vienna Synchron Player) on one computer, but we don’t recommend this in the long run. It’s best to convert all of your products to iLok at your next best opportunity.

Starting now, when you purchase any of our products only iLok compatible licenses will be issued. At this point, you can transfer all of your registered VSL licenses to your iLok account by clicking on the green “Deposit” button and all of your licenses will be available in the iLok License Manager for activation. Nevertheless, you can still continue to use your eLicenser protected content and software. At one point you will have to decide if you’re using eLicenser or iLok protection in your working environment, especially when our legacy software is not compatible anymore with your computer’s operating system, or when you purchase new products that can only be authorized with iLok.

You will receive an iLok license for every single registered permanent product license in your VSL account. For technical reasons, the licenses of the following legacy products are not going to be transferred to your iLok account:

  • Vienna Ensemble Pro versions 3/4/5/6
  • Numerical Sound FORTI/SERTI (IRs for Vienna Suite, discontinued in 2014)
  • Inspired Acoustics INSP:IR (IRs for Vienna Suite, discontinued in 2014)

The following products will be iLok compatible a bit later:

  • Vienna Suite (Vienna Suite Pro is already available with iLok authorization)
  • VI Vienna Imperial
Hello Vienna

Theft and Loss Coverage

With the availability of iLok and its options we’re no longer offering the ViennaKey nor the Vienna Protection Plan. An active Vienna Protection Plan continues to cover only VSL eLicenser licenses on ViennaKeys/USB eLicensers through the end of its term.

If you’re using a physical iLok key, we suggest activating iLok’s Theft and Loss Coverage (only available on iLok 3 keys, not on iLok 2 keys), in combination with Zero Downtime. Both of these are offered through PACE.

You’ll find more information in our FAQs.

Hello Vienna

Pending License

If you purchase a VSL product and don’t submit your iLok User ID during the basket process, your licenses will be pending until you do so. Please follow the steps below to activate your products:

Please add your iLok User ID to your VSL account here. As soon as you have done so, your VSL licenses will be available for activation in your iLok License Manager.

If you don’t have a confirmed iLok account, please create one for free on the iLok website. Make sure to download and install the free iLok License Manager and enter your iLok User ID here.

In the meantime, you can start the installation of your product(s) with the Vienna Assistant.

Hello Vienna

What else is new?

Vienna Instruments Pro, the advanced player, is now free and comes with every VI Series product! Vienna Instruments, the previous free sample player, has been discontinued. Existing DAW projects based on the Vienna Instruments player will open with the iLok version of the Vienna Instruments Pro player.

VI Standard Libraries of Collections and Single Instruments have been discontinued. Only VI Full Libraries are available, at lower prices! Users of registered VI Standard Libraries will always be able to upgrade to the VI Full Libraries. Single Instruments can now be found in the corresponding collections in your Vienna Assistant, to provide a better overview.

> Hello iLok
iLok

Unser Switch von eLicenser zu iLok

Hello! Mit großer Freude starten wir in eine neue Ära – mit einfachen Installationsprozeduren, besserem Lizenzmanagement und der Verwendung unserer Produkte mit oder ohne physischem USB-Key!

Mit unserem neuen Vienna Assistant, der Wahlfreiheit unter iLok, Lizenzen in der Cloud oder auf dem iLok Key zu speichern, sowie vielen anderen Verbesserungen haben wir den Installations-Vorgang stark vereinfacht, so dass Sie sich darauf konzentrieren können, was wirklich wichtig ist – Ihre Musik!

Holen Sie sich die HELLO Free Instruments, um alles kostenlos ausprobieren zu können!

Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu, um das YouTube Video anzuzeigen.


Ihre Schritte zu iLok

Um wie beim Boarding eines Flugzeugs Gedränge zu vermeiden, wird die Umstellung auf iLok-Lizenzen schrittweise erfolgen. User, die ab sofort kaufen oder kürzlich gekauft haben, werden die ersten sein, die ihre Lizenzen auf ihrem iLok-Account deponieren können, da ab sofort nur mehr iLok-kompatible Produkte ausgeliefert werden.

1. Wenn Sie noch keinen iLok-Account haben, legen Sie gratis einen an und verifizieren sie diesen.

2. Laden Sie die neueste Version des iLok License Manager herunter und installieren sie ihn.

3. Registrieren Sie Ihre iLok User ID auf MyVSL.

4. Übertragen Sie Ihre Lizenzen auf Ihr iLok-Konto, indem Sie auf den grünen „Deposit”-Button klicken.

5. Öffnen Sie den iLok License Manager auf Ihrem Computer und aktivieren Sie Ihre Lizenzen. Sie können Ihre Lizenzen entweder auf einem physischen iLok Key (iLok 2 oder iLok 3) oder in der iLok Cloud speichern (ausgenommen Gratis-Instrumente, deren Autorisierung nur über den Computer oder den iLok Key erfolgen kann). Für eine Aktivierung ohne iLok Key über die iLok Cloud klicken Sie im iLok License Manager bitte auf “File”, und wählen Sie dann “Open Cloud Session".

6. Verwenden Sie unseren neuen Vienna Assistant, um alle Ihre Software-Produkte und Sample Libraries herunterzuladen und zu installieren. Als Alternative zum Download können Sie die Vienna Hard Drive bestellen, die Installer-Files aller Library- und Software-Produkte enthält. Bitte beachten Sie, dass iLok-kompatible Software-Anwendungen die eLicenser-Versionen auf Ihrem Computer ersetzen. Der Library-Content, den Sie installieren, enthält alle vorhergehenden Library- und Preset-Updates, sodass Sie dann die aktuellste Version auf Ihrem System haben. Der Vienna Assistant bietet auch die Möglichkeit, den Sample-Content Ihrer alten, eLicenser-autorisierten Libraries zu löschen, um Speicherplatz freizugeben.

7. Öffnen und speichern Sie ihre bestehenden Projekte.
Wenn Sie alle über iLok autorisierten Software-Komponenten und den Sample Content installiert haben, öffnen Sie das Projekt in Ihrer DAW. Wenn Ihr Computer online ist, wird der VSL-Teil Ihres Projekts im Hintergrund konvertiert. Speichern Sie das Projekt nochmals ab, und Sie sind fertig. Ist Ihr Musik-Computer offline, müssen Sie Ihren ViennaKey/USB-eLicenser mit den entsprechenden Lizenzen anstecken, um Ihr Projekt zu öffnen und zu speichern. Die Online-Lösung garantiert, dass Sie Ihre Projekte auch zukünftig konvertieren werden können, ohne intakte physische eLicenser Keys bereithalten zu müssen.

Weitere informationen, Videos und FAQs finden Sie hier.

Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu, um das YouTube Video anzuzeigen.

Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu, um das YouTube Video anzuzeigen.

Weiterverwendung von eLicenser

Über eLicenser autorisierte Software und Library-Produkte werden weiterhin auf bestehenden Systemen funktionieren. Haben Sie einen Vienna Protection Plan, bleibt er bis zu seinem Ablaufdatum aufrecht. Sie können Ihre eLicenser-Lizenzen verwenden, solange Sie wollen, und solange das eLicenser Control Center und die letzte verfügbare über eLicenser autorisierte VSL-Software und -Libraries auf Ihrem Betriebssystem laufen.

Allerdings wird der eLicenser-Lizenzserver von Steinberg nicht für immer verfügbar sein. Sobald er heruntergefahren wird, werden der Download von Lizenzen und deren Übertragung zwischen ViennaKeys/USB-eLicensern nicht mehr möglich sein. Aber auch nach der Beendigung des eLicenser-Lizenzservers werden Sie Ihre über eLicenser autorisierten Produkte auf Ihrem Computer nützen können, wenn der eLicenser Key angeschlossen ist und solange dies mit dem Betriebssystem Ihres Computers funktioniert.

Über eLicenser autorisierter Content steht auch weiterhin unter MyVSL zum Download zur Verfügung und kann wie bisher mit dem klassischen Vienna Download Manager abgerufen werden. Mit dem neuen Vienna Assistant kann er nicht installiert werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie die eLicenser- und die iLok-Version einer Softwareanwendung (z. B. Vienna Synchron Player) nicht auf demselben Computer betreiben können! Technisch gesehen könnten Sie durchaus die eLicenser-Version einer Software (z. B. Vienna Instruments Pro) und die iLok-Version einer anderen Software (z. B. Vienna Synchron Player) auf einem Computer betreiben. Davon raten wir aber ab. Die von uns empfohlene Vorgangsweise ist, bei nächster Gelegenheit alle Produkte auf einmal zu konvertieren.

Wenn Sie ab sofort eines unserer Produkte erwerben, werden nur iLok-kompatible Lizenzen ausgegeben! Sie können dann alle Ihre registrierten VSL-Lizenzen auf Ihr iLok-Konto übertragen, indem Sie den grünen „Deposit“-Button anklicken. Damit stehen alle Ihre Lizenzen im iLok License Manager zur Aktivierung bereit. Trotzdem können Sie weiterhin ihren über eLicenser autorisierten Content und die Software benützen. Irgendwann werden Sie jedoch entscheiden müssen, ob Sie in Ihrer Arbeitsumgebung eLicenser- oder iLok-Autorisierung bevorzugen – spätestens, wenn unsere frühere Software nicht mehr mit dem Betriebssystem Ihres Computers kompatibel ist, oder wenn Sie neue Produkte kaufen, die nur mehr iLok-kompatibel ausgeliefert werden.

Sie erhalten für jede registrierte permanente Produktlizenz auf Ihrem VSL-Konto eine iLok-Lizenz. Aus technischen Gründen werden die Lizenzen der folgenden Produkte nicht auf Ihr iLok-Konto übertragen:

  • Vienna Ensemble Pro Version 3/4/5/6
  • Numerical Sound FORTI/SERTI (IRs für Vienna Suite, 2014 eingestellt)
  • Inspired Acoustics INSP:IR (IRs für Vienna Suite, 2014 eingestellt)

Folgende Produkte werden etwas später in der iLok-kompatiblen Version verfügbar sein:

  • Vienna Suite (Vienna Suite Pro existiert bereits mit iLok-Autorisierung)
  • VI Vienna Imperial
Hello Vienna

Abdeckung bei Diebstahl und Verlust

Mit der Verfügbarkeit von iLok und seinen Optionen bieten wir nun keinen ViennaKey und keinen Vienna Protection Plan mehr an. Ein aktiver Vienna Protection Plan deckt bis zum Ende seiner Laufzeit VSL eLicenser-Lizenzen auf ViennaKeys/USB eLicensern ab.

Wenn Sie einen physischen iLok Key verwenden, schlagen wir die Aktivierung von Theft and Loss Coverage (nur auf iLok 3 Keys verfügbar, nicht auf iLok 2 Keys) in Kombination mit Zero Downtime vor, die von PACE angeboten werden.

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie in unseren FAQs.

Hello Vienna

Pending License

Wenn Sie ein VSL-Produkt kaufen und Ihre iLok User ID während des Bestellvorgangs nicht angeben, bleiben Ihre Lizenzen in der Schwebe und können nicht platziert werden, bis Sie dies tun. Bitte folgen Sie den nachstehenden Schritten, um Ihre Produkte zu aktivieren:

Bitte geben Sie Ihre iLok User ID in Ihrem VSL-Account hier an. Sobald Sie dies getan haben, werden Ihre VSL-Lizenzen in Ihrem iLok License Manager zur Aktivierung verfügbar sein.

Wenn Sie keinen bestätigten iLok-Account besitzen, erstellen Sie bitte ein kostenloses Konto auf der iLok-Website. Laden Sie den kostenlosen iLok License Manager herunter, installieren Sie ihn und geben Sie hier Ihre iLok User ID ein.

In der Zwischenzeit können Sie die Installation Ihrer Produkte mit dem Vienna Assistant starten.

Hello Vienna

Was gibt es sonst Neues?

Der um viele Features erweiterte Sample-Player Vienna Instruments Pro ist ab jetzt gratis und automatisch beim Erwerb eines Produkts der VI-Serie enthalten! Unser kostenloser Vienna Instruments-Player wurde soeben eingestellt.
Bestehende DAW-Projekte, die mit dem Vienna Instruments Player erstellt wurden, können mit der iLok-Version des Vienna Instruments Pro Players geöffnet werden.

VI Standard Libraries von Collections und Single Instruments wurden aufgelassen. Es gibt nur noch VI Full Libraries, dafür zu niedrigeren Preisen! User von registrierten VI Standard Libraries können auch in Zukunft jederzeit auf die VI Full Libraries upgraden. Im Vienna Assistant sind die Single Instruments unter ihren übergeordneten Collections eingeordnet, um den Überblick zu erleichtern.