SYNCHRON CYMBALS & GONGS II

Vienna Instruments Collection


Calculating your price

Loading

Standard Lib. + Extended Lib. = Full Library

When you start with the Standard Library („Stereo Library Download“), you may easily upgrade to the Full Library („Multi Library Download“) at any time – you’ll only pay for the Extended Library portion of the product. You’ll receive the respective licenses (Activation Codes) and may download the Full Library („Multi Library Download“) right away from MyVSL.

Introductory offer through August 3, 2020!

Synchron Cymbals & Gongs II

Synchron Cymbals & Gongs II is a subset of the Synchron Percussion II Collection and contains a tam-tam, Burma gongs, and China gongs.

Tam-tams have existed in China for more than 2000 years. Originally, they were used for rituals and ceremonies, often to emphasize the master of ceremonies’ importance. The tam-tam is similar to the gong, with a sound that is inharmonic, quite brash and broad. Soft hits can be breathy and ominous. The harder tam-tams are hit the higher the ratio of high frequencies; and the larger the instrument is, the slower it responds, blooming into full volume before gradually fading.

Introduction

The tam-tam of Synchron Percussion II is the smallest of the series with a diameter of 70 cm (27 1/2"). Unlike the two tam-tams of Synchron Percussion I, it has a flat rim. It was recorded with up to 10 dynamic layers and 12 round robins for single strokes, with hard as well as with soft mallets. To create various effects, the tam-tam was hit and scratched with triangle beaters, beaten and swished with big brushes, made to sing with a super ball and rasp and squeal with sticks, as well as bowed to excite its overtones.

The Collection also provides a Preset “Tam-tams All” that unites all Patches of Synchron Cymbals & Gongs I and II, and thus facilitates switching between all three tam-tams. If Synchron Percussion I is not installed on your computer, we recommend using the Preset “Tam-tam flat 70cm”.

 

Burma Gongs are characterized by a raised center boss. They sound in distinct pitches and are known in various south-east Asian countries such as Burma, Thailand, Cambodia, and Indonesia. They are often used as lead instruments in traditional music. Large, low gongs sound very powerful and imposing. This makes them well suited for accents – however, they need the appropriate space in the arrangement as well as time to develop. Smaller gongs can also be used for melodic passages.

The Burma gongs of Synchron Percussion II are provided in an exceptionally broad tonal range of four octaves (C2–C6). They were sampled with up to 12 dynamic layers and four round robins for single strokes. There are single hits and rolls with hard and soft mallets, as well as numerous effect sounds, which comprise articulations with rods, brushes, rasping stick, hits and scratches with triangle beaters, and the singing sounds produced by being rubbed with a super ball.

China Gongs, Peking Opera Gongs or Glissando Gongs have their origin in the traditional Chinese opera. There are gongs with ascending glissando and gongs with descending glissando. In Chinese opera, the ascending gongs announce a powerful person, while the descending gongs announce less influential people or accompany funny situations.

The China gongs of Synchron Percussion II were recorded with up to eight dynamic layers and eight round robins for single strokes. Various rolls are also available.


12 Microphones

Every instrument was recorded using 12 microphones. You may select from four microphone positions (Standard Library) or seven different microphone positions (Full Library) and mix them to your liking, directly in the Vienna Synchron Player. Use the included and perfectly fine-tuned presets as a starting point for your own sonic creations. The performances in Stage A were captured in stereo using a Decca tree, and additional microphone arrays were utilized for 5.1 surround and Auro 3D 9.1.

Microphone Positions of the Full Library:

  1. Close Mic – Mono
  2. Mid Layer Mic – Stereo (L/R)
  3. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
  4. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
  5. Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)
  6. High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)
  7. High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)

Standard Library includes positions 1-4.

Synchron Percussion II - Recording Setup

Microphone and instrument setup (click for larger image)


Standard Library Full Library
Sample Amount 39,772 69,601
Download File Size 13.7 GB 29.7 GB
Installed File Size 42.2 GB 84.5 GB

SYNCHRON CYMBALS & GONGS II

Vienna Instruments Collection


Ihr Preis wird berechnet


VIENNA KEY

Standard Lib. + Extended Lib. = Full Library

Wenn Sie mit der Standard Library („Stereo Library Download“) beginnen, können Sie jederzeit und einfach auf die Full Library („Multi Library Download“) upgraden – Sie bezahlen dann nur mehr für die Extended Library, erhalten die entsprechenden Lizenzen (Aktivierungscodes) und können die Full Library („Multi Library Download“) des Produkts sodann unter MyVSL herunterladen.

Synchron Cymbals & Gongs II

Synchron Cymbals & Gongs II ist eine Auskopplung aus der Synchron Percussion II-Collection und enthält ein Tam-tam, Burma Gongs und China Gongs.

Tam-tams gibt es in China seit über 2000 Jahren. Sie wurden ursprünglich für Rituale und Zeremonien verwendet, oft um Platz zu machen oder die Wichtigkeit des Zeremonienmeisters einzustufen. Der Klang von Tam-tams ist sehr geräuschhaft und breitbandig. Leise Schläge sind eher basslastig. Je stärker Tam-tams geschlagen werden, desto höhenreicher wird der Klang. Je größer das Instrument ist, desto träger ist es – sowohl im Erklingen, als auch im Verklingen.

Produktübersicht

Das Tam-tam der Synchron Percussion II ist das kleinste der Serie, mit einem Durchmesser von 70 cm. Im Gegensatz zu den beiden Tam-tams von Synchron Percussion I hat es einen flachen Rand. Es wurde mit bis zu 10 Dynamikstufen und 12 Einzelschlag-Wiederholungen gesampelt, sowohl mit harten als auch mit weichen Schlägeln. Für Effekt-Spielweisen wurde das Tam-tam mit Triangel-Schlägeln angeschlagen oder gekratzt, mit großen Brushes geschlagen oder gewischt, mit einem Superball zum Singen gebracht, mit Sticks zum Kratzen oder Quietschen gebracht, sowie mit einem Bogen gestrichen, um die Obertöne hervorzuholen.

Mit „Tam-tams All“ steht auch ein Preset zur Verfügung, das alle Patches von Synchron Cymbals & Gongs I und II vereint und die einfache Umschaltung zwischen allen drei Tam-tams erlaubt. Ist Synchron Percussion I nicht installiert, wird die Verwendung des Presets „Tam-tam flat 70cm“ empfohlen.

 

Burma Gongs sind charakteristisch durch den markanten Buckel in der Mitte, weswegen sie auch Buckelgongs genannt werden. Sie klingen in bestimmten Tonhöhen und sind in verschiedenen südostasiatischen Ländern wie Burma, Thailand, Kambodscha und Indonesien verbreitet. Dort werden sie in der traditionellen Musik oft als Melodie-Instrument eingesetzt. Große, tiefe Gongs klingen sehr mächtig, fast ehrfurchtgebietend. Damit lassen sich gut Akzente setzen, die aber auch den entsprechenden Raum in der Orchestrierung sowie Zeit zur Klangentfaltung brauchen. Kleinere Gongs lassen sich auch gut als Melodie-Instrument einsetzen.

Die Burma Gongs von Synchron Percussion II stehen in einem außergewöhnlich großen Tonumfang von vier Oktaven zur Verfügung (C2 – C6). Sie wurden in bis zu 12 Dynamikstufen und 4 Einzelschlag-Wiederholungen gesampelt. Neben Einzelschlägen mit harten und weichen Schlägeln sowie Wirbeln gibt es eine Vielzahl von Effekt-Sounds. Zur Verfügung stehen Spielweisen mit Ruten, Brushes, Reibstock, mit Triangel-Schlägel geschlagen und gekratzt, und mit Superball zum Singen gebracht.

China Gongs oder auch Peking Opera Gongs oder Glissando Gongs haben ihren Ursprung in der traditionellen chinesischen Oper. Es gibt Gongs mit aufsteigendem Glissando und Gongs mit absteigendem Glissando. Die aufsteigenden Gongs kündigen in der chinesischen Oper eine machtvolle Person an, während absteigende Gongs weniger mächtige Personen ankündigen oder lustige Situationen untermalen.

Die China Gongs von Synchron Percussion II wurden in bis zu 8 Dynamikstufen und 8 Einzelschlag-Wiederholungen gesampelt. Weiters steht eine Vielzahl von Wirbeln zur Verfügung.


12 Mikrofone

Jedes Instrument wurde mit 12 Mikrofonen aufgenommen. Sie können zwischen vier verschiedenen Mikrofonpositionen (Standard Library) oder sieben verschiedenen Mikrofonpositionen (Full Library) wählen und diese nach Belieben im Vienna Synchron Player. Die mitgelieferten Presets ausgewogener Mikrofon-Mixes dienen Ihnen dabei als perfekte Ausgangsbasis für Ihre eigenen Kreationen. Der natürliche Raumklang von Stage A wurde mit einem Decca-Tree in Stereo eingefangen, weitere Mikrofon-Settings erlauben eine 5.1- und sogar eine Auro 3D-Wiedergabe in 9.1.

Mikrofonpositionen der Full Library:

  1. Close Mic – Mono
  2. Mid Layer Mic – Stereo (L/R)
  3. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
  4. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
  5. Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)
  6. High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)
  7. High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)

Die Standard Library enthält die Positionen 1-4.

Synchron Percussion II - Recording Setup

Mikrofon- und Instrumentenaufbau (zum Vergrößern klicken)


Standard Library Full Library
Anzahl Samples 39.772 69.601
Dateigröße des Downloads 13,7 GB 29,7 GB
Installierte Dateigröße 42,2 GB 84,5 GB