SYNCHRON DRUMS II

Vienna Instruments Collection


Calculating your price

Loading

Standard Lib. + Extended Lib. = Full Library

When you start with the Standard Library („Stereo Library Download“), you may easily upgrade to the Full Library („Multi Library Download“) at any time – you’ll only pay for the Extended Library portion of the product. You’ll receive the respective licenses (Activation Codes) and may download the Full Library („Multi Library Download“) right away from MyVSL.

Introductory offer through August 3, 2020!

Synchron Drums II

Synchron Drums II is a subset of the Synchron Percussion II Collection and contains Taikos, Roto Toms, and Bass Drum 2.

Taikos are traditional Japanese keg-shaped drums with horse or cowhide nailed to their frames. Samurai used these drums in order to demoralize their opponents before an attack. Sizes range from very small (like bongos) to gigantic. The first such drums of this type could be found in China more than 2000 years ago.

Introduction

The traditional playing style using heavy cudgels creates a very hard, accentuated sound. Taikos are often played in ensembles with drums of varying sizes, and utilizing them together can create a dominating, driving rhythm. In the orchestra, taikos are also played with gong mallets. This makes their sound somewhat softer and booming.
 
For Synchron Percussion II we recorded 10 taikos in sizes from 8" to 53" with up to 12 dynamic levels and eight round robins for single strokes. The taikos were played on the drumhead, side, rim, and the body – with cudgels, gong mallets, brushes, and super ball.

Roto toms were developed in the second half of the 20th century by Michael Colgrass, and further developed by the Remo company. Roto toms consist of skins stretched over a metal frame without a body or shell. Turning the frame changes the skins’ tension and thus the pitch of the drums. Since these are tuned drums, they have something in common with the timpani. Therefore, roto toms are often used in place of soprano timpani, and frequently employed when drums with a certain pitch are required.
 
For this Collection we sampled roto toms ranging over 2½ octaves, and played them with sticks, hot rods, and mallets. Apart from single hits, rim hits, rimshots and rolls, the recordings also comprise glissandos, which are created by turning the frame immediately after the hit.

Synchron Percussion’s second Bass Drum is a Lefima 28. This traditional large bass drum with its crisp sound was recorded with up to 16 dynamic levels and 8 round robins for single strokes.
 
Articulations are comprised of single hits on various areas of the drum, rolls, upbeats, coperto (covered with a blanket), played with three different mallets (soft, medium, hard). In addition, there are effect articulations such as brushes, sizzle (attaching a sizzle chain to the skin results in a noisy reverberation), and super ball, which is a rubber ball on a stick that is drawn across the skin, creating a kind of humming tone.


12 Microphones

Every instrument was recorded using 12 microphones. You may select from four microphone positions (Standard Library) or seven different microphone positions (Full Library) and mix them to your liking, directly in the Vienna Synchron Player. Use the included and perfectly fine-tuned presets as a starting point for your own sonic creations. The performances in Stage A were captured in stereo using a Decca tree, and additional microphone arrays were utilized for 5.1 surround and Auro 3D 9.1.

Microphone Positions of the Full Library:

  1. Close Mic – Mono
  2. Mid Layer Mic – Stereo (L/R)
  3. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
  4. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
  5. Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)
  6. High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)
  7. High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)

Standard Library includes positions 1-4.

Synchron Percussion II - Recording Setup

Microphone and instrument setup (click for larger image)


Standard Library Full Library
Sample Amount 50,240 87,920
Download File Size 7.9 GB 16.6 GB
Installed File Size 27.7 GB 55.4 GB

AUDIO More ...
  • Synchron Blizzard #2-Invention for drums
  • First Contact

Open External Player

SYNCHRON DRUMS II

Vienna Instruments Collection


Ihr Preis wird berechnet


VIENNA KEY

Standard Lib. + Extended Lib. = Full Library

Wenn Sie mit der Standard Library („Stereo Library Download“) beginnen, können Sie jederzeit und einfach auf die Full Library („Multi Library Download“) upgraden – Sie bezahlen dann nur mehr für die Extended Library, erhalten die entsprechenden Lizenzen (Aktivierungscodes) und können die Full Library („Multi Library Download“) des Produkts sodann unter MyVSL herunterladen.

Synchron Drums II

Synchron Drums II ist eine Auskopplung aus der Synchron Percussion II-Collection und enthält Taikos, Roto Toms und Bass Drum 2.

Taikos sind traditionelle japanische Trommeln in Fassform mit angenagelter Pferde- oder Rinderhaut. Von den Samurai wurden diese Trommeln verwendet, um die Gegner vor dem Angriff zu zermürben. Die Größen gehen von sehr klein (wie Bongos) bis riesig. Die ersten Trommeln dieser Bauweise gab es in China vor über 2000 Jahren.

Produktvorstellung

Durch die traditionelle Spielweise mit dicken Klöppeln entsteht ein sehr harter, akzentuierter Klang. Taikos werden häufig im Ensemble mit verschieden großen Trommeln gespielt. Durch die Verwendung dieser Instrumente rückt die rhythmische Komponente der Musik sehr stark in den Vordergrund. Im Orchester werden Taikos auch mit Gong-Schlägeln gespielt. Dadurch wird der Klang weicher, dumpfer und bass-lastiger.
 
Für Synchron Percussion II wurden 10 Taikos in den Größen 8" bis 53" mit bis zu 12 Dynamikstufen und 8 Wiederholungen gesampelt. Die Taikos wurden am Fell, am Rand, an der Kante und am Korpus gespielt – mit Klöppeln (Cudgel), Gong-Schlägeln, Brushes und Superball.

Roto Toms wurden in der 2. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts von Michael Colgrass entwickelt und von der Firma Remo weiterentwickelt. Roto-Toms sind in einen Metallrahmen gespannte Trommelfelle ohne Korpus. Durch Drehen des Rahmens wird die Fellspannung und dadurch die klingende Tonhöhe verändert. Da es sich um gestimmte Trommeln handelt, besteht eine gewisse Verwandtschaft zu Pauken. Deshalb werden Roto Toms oft auch anstelle von Sopran-Pauken verwendet, oder häufig dann, wenn Trommeln mit bestimmter Tonhöhe vorgeschrieben sind.
 
Für diese Collection wurden Roto Toms im Tonumfang von 2½ Oktaven gesampelt, gespielt mit Sticks, Hot Rods und Mallets. Neben Einzelschlägen, Rim-Schlägen, Rimshots und Wirbeln wurden auch Glissandi aufgenommen, die durch Drehen unmittelbar nach dem Schlag erzeugt werden.

Die zweite große Trommel der Synchron Percussion ist eine Lefima 28. Die traditionelle Bass Drum mit knackigem Sound wurde in bis zu 16 Dynamikstufen und mit 8 Wiederholungen bei Einzelschlägen (round robins) aufgenommen.
 
Spielweisen umfassen Einzelschläge an verschiedenen Stellen der Trommel, Wirbel, Upbeats, Coperto (mit Decke abgedämpft), gespielt wurde mit drei verschiedenen Schlägeln (weich, mittel, hart). Zusätzlich gibt es noch Effekt-Spielweisen wie Brushes, Sizzle – hierbei wird eine Sizzle-Kette am Trommelfell angelehnt, was einen geräuschhaften Nachklang erzeugt – und Superball. Bei Letzterem wird ein aufgespießter Gummiball über das Fell gezogen und versetzt dieses in Schwingung, wodurch eine Art „brummender Gesang“ entsteht.


12 Mikrofone

Alle Instrumente wurden mit 12 Mikrofonen aufgenommen. Sie können zwischen vier verschiedenen Mikrofonpositionen (Standard Library) oder sieben verschiedenen Mikrofonpositionen (Full Library) wählen und diese nach Belieben im Vienna Synchron Player mischen. Die mitgelieferten Presets ausgewogener Mikrofon-Mixes dienen Ihnen dabei als perfekte Ausgangsbasis für Ihre eigenen Kreationen. Der natürliche Raumklang von Stage A wurde mit einem Decca-Tree in Stereo eingefangen, weitere Mikrofon-Settings erlauben eine 5.1- und sogar eine 3D-Wiedergabe (Dolby Atmos, Auro 3D).

Mikrofonpositionen der Full Library:

  1. Close Mic – Mono
  2. Mid Layer Mic – Stereo (L/R)
  3. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
  4. Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
  5. Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)
  6. High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)
  7. High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)

Die Standard Library enthält die Positionen 1-4.

Synchron Percussion II - Recording Setup

Mikrofon- und Instrumentenaufbau (zum Vergrößern klicken)


Standard Library Full Library
Anzahl Samples 50.240 87.920
Dateigröße des Downloads 7,9 GB 16,6 GB
Installierte Dateigröße 27,7 GB 55,4 GB