AUDIO
  • The Lost Prince - Serpent
  • Sonata for Flute and Continuo in E Minor, BWV 1034, III. Andante
  • Sonata V d-minor-Adagio - Serpent

Open External Player

SYNCHRON-ized SERPENT

Synchron Series Collection


Calculating your price


VIENNA KEY

SYNCHRON-ized Serpent

This Historic Winds Pack brings the serpent from our acclaimed VI Historic Winds I Collection to Stage A of Synchron Stage Vienna. It has been re-edited and optimized for the Vienna Synchron Player, increasing both the flexibility and ease-of-use of all articulations for a quick and creative workflow.

The serpent (latin: serpens “snake”) is easily recognized by its exceptional visual appearance. The instrument was developed in France in the 16th century, covering the bass register of the zink (cornett/cornetto) family of instruments. Serpents are usually made out of wood covered by leather. In the middle of the 18th century the serpent began to appear in military bands and orchestras, where it stayed until the middle of the 19th century, as it was the only wind instrument that could perform at louder volumes in larger ensembles and venues. The instrument is extremely hard to play and requires great skills and effort from the player. Parts originally written for the Serpent were therefore replaced by the Ophicleide and later by the contra bassoon, French horn, trombone, tuba or euphonium.
 
Various composers of the Baroque, Classical and Romantic periods wrote parts for serpent, e.g., Händel (Music for the Royal Fireworks and Water Music), Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn (in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”), Berlioz (in his “Symphonie fantastique”), and Wagner (in his opera “Rienzi”). The serpent was rediscovered in the 20th century by legendary film music composers such as Bernard Hermann (1959: Journey to the Center of the Earth) and Jerry Goldsmith, who used it to create “alien” sounds for Ridley Scott’s legendary sci-fi horror movie “Alien” (1979).
 
The Synchron Player’s integrated convolution reverb adds the outstanding ambience of the 540 m² (5,813 sq.ft.) main hall of Synchron Stage Vienna to the dry samples in real-time. Expertly crafted mixer presets place the instrument at its perfect spot on stage, resulting in a production-ready sound “out of the box” that blends seamlessly with the instruments of SYNCHRON-ized Woodwinds as well as with every other product in the Synchron Series.

A crossgrade price of €15 is available for registered users of VI Historic Winds I. Please log in to display your personal crossgrade price.

Audio Demos

SYNCHRON-ized Serpent
The Lost Prince - Serpent Guy Bacos 4:06
Sonata for Flute and Continuo in E Minor, BWV 1034, III. Andante Johann Sebastian Bach 0:33
Sonata V d-minor-Adagio - Serpent Johann Ernst Galliard 1:38
Library
Sample Amount 3,647
Download File Size 451.5 MB
Installed File Size 1.2 GB

AUDIO
  • The Lost Prince - Serpent
  • Sonata for Flute and Continuo in E Minor, BWV 1034, III. Andante
  • Sonata V d-minor-Adagio - Serpent

Open External Player

SYNCHRON-ized SERPENT

Synchron Series Collection


Ihr Preis wird berechnet


VIENNA KEY

SYNCHRON-ized Serpent

Diese Library bringt den Serpent aus der VI Historic Winds I Collection in die große Halle (Stage A) der Synchron Stage Vienna. Die Sample-Datenbank wurde für den Vienna Synchron Player im Hinblick auf Flexibilität, Ausgewogenheit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit neu aufbereitet und optimiert, um ein rasches und kreatives Arbeiten zu ermöglichen.

Der Serpent (lat.: serpens = Schlange) besticht alleine durch seine unverwechselbare optische Erscheinung. Das Instrument wurde im 16. Jhdt. in Frankreich erfunden und deckt das Bassregister der Zinkenfamilie ab. Wie beim Zink kommt auch beim Serpent als Material lederumwickeltes Holz zum Einsatz, das Mundstück ähnelt jenem der Posaune oder Tuba, weshalb der Serpent auch als Vorläufer der Tuba gilt. Mitte des 18. Jhdts. fand der Serpent Einzug in die Militärmusik und in das Orchester, wo er sich aufgrund seiner Durchsetzungskraft bis Mitte des 19. Jhdts. hielt. Der Serpent gilt als außerordentlich schwierig zu spielen und seine Beherrschung erfordert viel Übung und Kraftanstrengung vom Musiker. Selbst unter idealen Bedingungen ist es nicht leicht, dem Instrument einen konstant schönen Ton zu entlocken. So wurde der Serpent durch die Ophikleide und später durch Kontrafagott, Horn, Posaune oder Euphonium ersetzt.

Viele Komponisten des Barock, der Klassik und auch Romantik setzten den Serpent ein, z. B. Händel (Feuerwerks- und Wassermusik), Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn (in „Ein Sommernachtstraum“), Berlioz (in seiner „Symphonie Fantastique”), sowie Wagner (in der Oper „Rienzi“). Im 20. Jhdt. wurde der Serpent von einigen Filmmusik-Legenden wiederentdeckt: So setzte Bernard Hermann im Film „Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde“ (1959) einen Serpent ein, Jerry Goldsmith wiederum kreierte damit „außerirdische“ Klangwelten für Ridley Scotts legendären Sci-Fi Horrorfilm „Alien“ (1979).

Mit dem in den Vienna Synchron Player integrierten Convolution-Reverb wird das relativ trocken aufgenommene Instrument optimal in der 540 m² großen Stage A der Synchron Stage Vienna platziert. Die maßgeschneiderten Mixer-Presets liefern einen sofort einsetzbaren Raumklang „out-of-the-box“ und passen zudem perfekt zu den Instrumenten der SYNCHRON-ized Woodwinds Collection wie auch zu allen anderen Produkten der Synchron Series.

Ein ermäßigter Crossgrade-Preis von € 15 ist für registrierte User der VI-Collection Historic Winds I verfügbar. Bitte loggen Sie sich ein, um Ihren persönlichen Crossgrade-Preis anzuzeigen.

Audio Demos

SYNCHRON-ized Serpent
The Lost Prince - Serpent Guy Bacos 4:06
Sonata for Flute and Continuo in E Minor, BWV 1034, III. Andante Johann Sebastian Bach 0:33
Sonata V d-minor-Adagio - Serpent Johann Ernst Galliard 1:38
Library
Anzahl Samples 3.647
Dateigröße des Downloads 451,5 MB
Installierte Dateigröße 1,2 GB