> ABOUT US > HISTORY

From Dream To Reality

In the 1990s, founder Herb Tucmandl, a former cello player and substitute member of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, went from working as a cameraman to being a successful director in his own right. For his various award-winning productions Tucmandl even produced his own orchestral scores with computers and sample libraries. The available resources at that time, however, were nowhere near satisfactory for his needs. As an experienced orchestral musician, he grew increasingly tired of listening to the same old samples. “Composing with sample libraries is 1% creativity and 99% damage control“, he used to complain. As a result of this frustration, and with a clear need for something new, he spent hundreds of sleepless nights creating a new concept for a truly authentic orchestral sample library.

His approach was fascinatingly innovative, as Herb not only wanted to record single notes but also note transitions, which would allow for a living and believable performance for the very first time. The recordings would include a wide variety of articulations such as legato, repetitions, trills, fast runs, arpeggios, harmonics, flutter tongues, clusters, and so much more. While the largest conventional sample libraries at that time offered a mere 6,000 samples to replicate an entire orchestra, Herb developed a structure of more than one million single notes and short phrases!

The Beginnings

It quickly became clear that a project of this scale was going to push the boundaries of computer processing power, memory and storage space. Unfortunately, computers at the time simply would not have been able to deal with such an enormous challenge. Regardless of all the doubts surrounding the project, Herb Tucmandl took his cello to a studio and recorded several thousand samples himself. After creating the first demo production he managed to convince sampling experts and music lovers alike.

Quite extraordinarily, the next obstacle facing the project turned out to be that of finding exceptional orchestral musicians in Vienna, one of the world capitals of music! The problem was that the sheer physical and psychological demands of such an endeavor differed significantly from those of well-rehearsed concert repertoire. Sitting in a recording studio for several months, sometimes even years, only playing single notes and short phrases at the highest possible level of perfection requires not only impeccable control of the instrument, but also outstanding stamina.

On top of all of this, though, was the fact that no recording facility could provide a large enough space with the high level of required sound insulation and guaranteed availability over an extended period. These challenges were remedied through the creation of the “Silent Stage”, a custom-made recording hall built in the south of Vienna. Since then, more than 200 musicians and singers have been performing there with Artistic Director Michael Hula acting as a merciless but very patient conductor. Since a recording session of 3 hours results in about 30 hours of editing, several dozen sound engineers were confined to editing suites for days and nights, plowing through a mountain of sound data (terabytes) and working meticulously to hone a perfect, authentic sound.

Sample Libraries

Since the foundation of the company in October 2000, nearly every instrument of the symphonic orchestra has not only been recorded as a solo instrument but also as part of its respective ensemble. An achievement made possible by the unique synergy of Viennese music tradition with state-of-the-art technology. The portfolio is constantly being expanded and complemented, and now even includes the “Vienna Choir”, a large, mixed choir sample library to complement the symphonic orchestra.

The first products were released in December 2002. The “First Edition” included the modules “Strings”, “Brass & Woodwinds”, “Percussion” as well as the “Performance Set”. In the summer of 2003, the “Pro Edition” with double the amount of samples was released (390,000 samples, 240 GB). Both Editions came in preconfigured formats for the software samplers TASCAM GigaStudio and Apple Logic EXS24 (by Emagic at that time). In late 2003 smaller packages of the “Horizon Series” followed. These were also offered for the samplers, Steinberg HALion and Native Instruments Kontakt. All products that included “Performance Elements” were offered with Vienna Symphonic Library’s first software application, the MIDI utility “Performance Tool”, that – for the very first time in sampling technology – allowed users to play real legatos and convincing note repetitions in real-time.

Virtual Instruments and Software Developments

The call for a closer integration between samples and software for heightened realism and usability led to the development of a proprietary sample playback engine, the Vienna Instruments player.

Since their introduction in late 2005, VIENNA INSTRUMENTS have been the most powerful virtual instruments on the market, integrating intelligent Performance Algorithms with their easy-to-use VST/AU/AAX plug-in instruments to orchestrate an inconceivably vast array of samples. Composers, arrangers and music producers can now reproduce virtually every nuance soloists or ensembles are capable of playing with absolutely authentic results.

The mixing and host software, VIENNA ENSEMBLE PRO, is the first MIDI and audio Local Area Network (LAN) solution that connects PCs and Macs with a standard Gigabit Ethernet connection. MIDI and digital audio flows seamlessly without any additional audio hardware to balance the processing across several computers. Sample playback stays in sync with the master Digital Audio Workstation with no latency issues – a flawles software solution that has turned the industry's collective head.

In 2008, our software developers created VIENNA SUITE, then the first effect plug-in suite that runs on both 64-bit and 32-bit PCs and Macs. Its eleven audio tools – including equalizers, compressor, limiters, convolution reverb, and more – are leading the way in high-end sound and ease-of-use. The plug-ins offer hundreds of expert presets tailor-made for Vienna Instruments.

In 2009, after several years of research and development and for the first time in music technology, VIENNA MIR enabled composers to reproduce the acoustics of concert halls authentically in real-time on a single computer. The idea was simple. Just as it is possible to sample musical instruments and all of their different facets, we can also digitize the shape of a room and its unique acoustic characteristics. The “response” of any room to a strictly defined acoustic impulse can be recorded and imprinted on any other “dry” signal by a mathematical process called convolution. The audible result is the same as if the signal were recorded in that very room. For the composer, all this happens under the hood of this powerful application. An instrument can be placed in the desired location and facing direction on the stage of a selected room (e.g., Vienna Konzerthaus, Teldex Studio Berlin, The Sage Gateshead, to name a few) and – through the magic of technology – it sounds like it is being played in that room!

> ABOUT US > GESCHICHTE

Vom Traum zur Wirklichkeit

Firmengründer Herbert „Herb“ Tucmandl, ehemals Cellist und Substitut bei den Wiener Philharmonikern, avancierte Mitte der 90er-Jahre vom Kameramann zum erfolgreichen Regisseur und produzierte mit Hilfe von Computern und Sample Libraries orchestrale Filmmusiken für seine vielfach ausgezeichneten Projekte. Die damals verfügbaren Mittel wurden den Klangvorstellungen des ausgebildeten Orchestermusikers jedoch nicht gerecht und irgendwann konnte er die ewig gleich klingenden, sterilen Sounds aus dem Computer nicht mehr hören. „Komponieren mit Sample Libraries ist 1 % Kreativität und 99 % Schadensbegrenzung“, pflegte er zu stöhnen. Aus der Not und Frustration heraus entwickelte er in hunderten durchwachten Nächten das Konzept einer neuen, wirklich authentisch klingenden Orchester Sample Library.

Seine Idee bestach dabei vor allem durch den Ansatz, nicht ausschließlich Einzelnoten, sondern auch Tonverbindungen aufzunehmen, die durch ihre Kombination erstmals lebendige Interpretationen ermöglichen sollten. Zudem war auch die Aufnahme einer Vielzahl von Spielweisen wie Legato, Pizzicato, Tonwiederholungen und Läufe in verschiedenen Tempi, Triller, Arpeggien, Flageolett oder Flatterzunge vorgesehen. Während die größten Libraries zur damaligen Zeit das gesamte Orchester mit rund 6000 Samples abdeckten, entwickelte Herb Tucmandl eine Struktur für über eine Million Einzeltöne und Phrasen.

Die Anfänge

Schnell wurde klar, dass dieses Vorhaben die Anforderungen an Rechenleistung und Speicherplatz der damals erhältlichen Computer um ein Vielfaches übersteigen würde. Ungeachtet der Tatsache, dass solche Systeme zum damaligen Zeitpunkt noch gar nicht verfügbar waren, setzte sich Herb Tucmandl selbst an sein Cello und spielte im Studio einige tausend Samples ein. Mit der anschließenden Demo-Produktion konnte er schließlich Musik- und Sampling-Experten gleichermaßen überzeugen.

Es mag verwunderlich anmuten, dass die nächste Schwierigkeit darin bestand, geeignete Orchestermusiker in Wien – immerhin einer der bedeutendsten Musikmetropolen der Welt – zu finden, denn die physischen und psychischen Anforderungen bei einem solchen Projekt unterscheiden sich maßgeblich von der routinierten Konzert- oder Tourneetätigkeit. Monatelang in einem Aufnahmestudio zu sitzen und dabei ausschließlich Einzeltöne sowie kurze Phrasen in einem konstanten Höchstmaß an Perfektion zu spielen, erfordert neben absoluter Instrumentenbeherrschung auch außerordentliche Konzentration und Durchhaltevermögen.

Nachdem kein Tonstudio für einen längeren Aufnahmezeitraum zur Verfügung stand und zudem keine konstanten akustische Bedingungen gewährleisten konnte, wurde kurzerhand eine eigene Aufnahmehalle mit dem Namen „Silent Stage“ in Ebreichsdorf im Süden Wiens errichtet. Seither wurden dort über 200 MusikerInnen und SängerInnen unter dem Dirigat des strengen, aber geduldigen künstlerischen Leiters Michael Hula aufgenommen. Da eine Aufnahme-Einheit von 3 Stunden ca. 30 Stunden an Nachbearbeitung erfordert, mussten sich gleich dutzende Toningenieure in Edit-Suiten Tag und Nacht durch den Terabyte-großen Dschungel an Klangdaten kämpfen, um am perfekten, authentischen Sound zu feilen.

Die Sample Libraries

Seit der Firmengründung im Oktober 2000 wurden nahezu alle Instrumente des symphonischen Orchesters einzeln und in den jeweiligen Gruppen aufgenommen – in einer einzigartigen Synthese aus Wiener Musiktradition und Spitzentechnologie. Das Sortiment wird laufend erweitert und beinhaltet mittlerweile auch den Vienna Choir, der als großer, gemischter Chor ein Pendant zum symphonischen Orchester darstellt.

Die ersten Produkte kamen im Dezember 2002 auf den Markt. Die „FIRST EDITION“ beinhaltete die Module „Strings“, „Brass & Woodwinds“, „Percussion“ sowie das „Performance Set“. Im Sommer 2003 wurde die „PRO EDITION“ veröffentlicht und damit die Anzahl an Samples verdoppelt (390.000 Samples, 240 GB). Beide Editionen waren vorkonfiguriert in den Formaten für GigaStudio von Tascam sowie EXS24 von Apple Logic (vormals Emagic) erhältlich. Ende 2003 folgten kleinere Pakete der „HORIZON SERIES“, die auch für die Sampler HALion von Steinberg sowie Kontakt von Native Instruments erhältlich waren. Alle Produkte enthielten neben Einzeltönen sogenannte „Performance Elements“, die durch das „Performance Tool“, der ersten eigenen Software-Entwicklung aus eigenem Haus, das Spielen von Tonwiederholungen und Legato in Echtzeit ermöglichte und damit die Grenzen der bis dato bekannten Sample Libraries weit hinter sich ließen.

Virtuelle Instrumente und Software-Entwicklungen

Der Ruf nach einer besseren Integration der immer umfangreicher werdenden Sample-Datenbank mit einer Software, die Realismus und gleichzeitig Bedienerfreundlichkeit in erhöhtem Maße bieten sollte, führte zur Entwicklung des Vienna Instruments Players.

Die VIENNA INSTRUMENTS zählen seit ihrer Einführung Ende 2005 zu den mächtigsten virtuellen Instrumente am Markt und bieten intelligente Performance-Algorithmen unter dem User Interface von einfach zu bedienenden VST/AU/AAX-Plug-ins. Sie verwalten eine schier unglaubliche Menge an Samples und ermöglichen Musikschaffenden, nahezu jede klangliche Nuance eines Instruments oder Ensembles auf authentische Weise zu reproduzieren.

Im Herbst 2008 lieferte das Software-Team mit VIENNA SUITE eine Sammlung von Effekt-Plug-ins, die erstmals sowohl auf 32-Bit- als auch auf 64-Bit-PCs und Macs eingesetzt werden konnte. Die elf Werkzeuge zur Audiobearbeitung beinhalten u.a. Equalizer, Compressor, Limiter sowie Convolution Reverb und punkten mit erstklassigem Klang, einfacher Bedienung sowie einer Vielzahl an mitgelieferten Presets, die eigens für die Vienna Instruments erstellt wurden.

Die Mixing- und Host-Software VIENNA ENSEMBLE PRO war 2009 die erste Netzwerk-Lösung, die PCs und Macs durch ein einfaches Ethernet-Kabel miteinander verbinden konnte. MIDI- und Audio-Daten können ohne zusätzliche Audio-Hardware synchron und ohne Zeitverzögerungen zwischen Host- und Slave-Rechnern verschiedener 32- und 64-bit-Betriebssysteme transferiert werden – eine effektive Software-Lösung, die in der Branche für Furore sorgte.

Im Jahr 2009 wurde nach mehreren Jahren der Forschung und Entwicklung die Software VIENNA MIR vorgestellt, die den Klang von Konzertsälen authentisch und in Echtzeit erstmals auf einem einzigen Computer reproduzieren konnte. Die Idee dahinter war einfach: Genauso wie es möglich ist, Instrumente in all ihren Facetten zu „samplen“, können auch die akustischen Eigenschaften eines Raumes digitalisiert werden. Hierfür wird die „Antwort“ eines beliebigen Raumes auf einen genau definierten akustischen Impuls aufgenommen und anschließend in einem mathematischen Prozess („Faltung“; engl.: „Convolution“) einem anderen, trockenen Signal aufgeprägt. Das hörbare Ergebnis ist dasselbe, als wäre das neue Signal tatsächlich in diesem Raum aufgezeichnet worden. Die äußerst komplexen Rechenvorgänge werden von der Software übernommen und laufen stets im Hintergrund. Der Anwender kann Instrumente und Signalquellen frei auf der Bühne des ausgewählten Raums (z. B. Wiener Konzerthaus, Teldex Studio Berlin, The Sage Gateshead, um nur einige zu nennen) an der gewünschten Position platzieren und das Ergebnis klingt so, als ob das Instrument tatsächlich an dieser Position gespielt würde.