> ABOUT US > MUSICIANS

The Vienna Symphonic Library's Musical Soul

SilentStage_BassEnsemble_940x575

More than 200 excellent musicians have devoted up to one year of their lives, sometimes even more, to the recordings for the Vienna Symphonic Library. While recording, they reach their physical and psychological limits, sometimes even transgressing them. But the strain has its rewards. Tenor trombone player Johann Schodl says that after half a year of playing for the Vienna Symphonic Library he got stronger cheek muscles. Since then, he has been able to play extremely long tones at his highest pitch without any deviation.

In order to guarantee sound consistency within an instrument - for superior sample combination possibilities and authenticity - all samples have to be played by the same musician on the same instrument. Therefore, the players of the main instruments have to be available for recording over a period of six to twelve months, the length of time required to produce up to 40,000 perfect samples of any given instrument or ensemble.

Through extensive research and discussions with the musicians and musical directors, the characteristics of each respective instrument are thoroughly evaluated and mapped out. All shapeable parameters are notated and analyzed, hierarchically categorized and cast into scores. Extra time is scheduled for practice sessions, as even the best instrumentalist is challenged by consistently playing perfect single tones and phrases over the whole tone range. The musicians came to call these sessions "paid practice" and over a period of weeks and months, even Vienna's top musicians began to improve their technique and their performance horizon, so that by the end of production, their best possible performances were captured for the libraries.

> ABOUT US > MUSIKER

Die musikalische Seele der Vienna Symphonic Library

Silent Stage – Kontrabass-Ensemble

Über 200 ausgezeichnete MusikerInnen widmen bis zu einem Jahr ihrer Zeit und bisweilen auch mehr den Aufnahmen für die Vienna Symphonic Library. Sie gelangen an ihre physischen und psychischen Grenzen, manchmal auch darüber hinaus. Und die Anstrengung hinterlässt Spuren. So erzählt der Tenorposaunist Johann Schodl, dass er nach einem halben Jahr Einspielen für die Vienna Symphonic Library stärkere Backenmuskeln bekam. Seither spielt er auch extrem lange Töne in höchster Lage ohne jegliche Schwankungen.

Um die klangliche Konsistenz innerhalb eines Instruments und damit die Kombinierbarkeit der Samples untereinander zu gewährleisten, müssen alle Samples von ein und demselben Musiker auf ein und demselben Instrument gespielt werden. Die Instrumentalisten der Hauptinstrumente stehen daher sechs bis zwölf Monate für Aufnahmen zur Verfügung, denn so lange dauert es, bis z. T. über 40.000 Samples eingespielt sind.

In ausführlichen Gesprächen mit den ausgewählten Musikern werden die Charakteristika der jeweiligen Instrumente bis an die Grenzen ausgelotet. Alle gestaltbaren Parameter werden erfasst und analysiert, hierarchisch katalogisiert und in Partituren gegossen. Dabei wird auch der Übungsfortschritt berücksichtigt, denn das Spielen von perfekten Einzeltönen und Phrasen über den gesamten Tonumfang ist für jeden Instrumentalisten eine Herausforderung. "Bezahltes Üben" nennen sie das, wobei absolute Spitzenmusiker ihre Technik noch verbessern und ihren Leistungshorizont erweitern. Denn mit der Zeit werden Dinge möglich, die sie früher für unmöglich gehalten hatten.