> ABOUT US > WHAT IS IT?

What are Vienna Symphonic Library’s products for?

Using Vienna Symphonic Library’s products, music professionals can accurately and authentically recreate orchestral pieces on their computers. This enables composers to produce not only a printed score, but also an audible and convincing rendering of their music. Using our products, composers can more easily influence producers, directors, publishers and concert organizers to perform or record a new opus, without necessarily having to book expensive orchestras, concert halls or recording studios for a demo. Furthermore, any changes of instrumentation, tempo, length or key can be dealt with quickly and easily. Even pieces that have until now been considered “unplayable” can be realized with this new technology.

The list of Vienna Symphonic Library users includes musicians, composers, arrangers and studio owners on all continents. Well-known TV and film music composers such as Danny Elfman, A.R. Rahman, Alan Silvestri, Alexandre Desplat and many others use their “Vienna Libraries” (as some like to call them) to create mock-ups of their movie scores. Increasingly composers are also combining virtual orchestra sounds with live musicians in the final mix. TV series such as CSI, The Mentalist, Dexter or commercials are almost exclusively created “inside the box”. Tight production schedules and limited budgets usually don’t allow for recordings of real orchestras, so the sample-based recording isn’t just a mock-up, it’s the final cue.

What’s more, educational institutions around the globe are using Vienna Symphonic Library’s products to teach composition, orchestration, film scoring and much more.

What is a virtual instrument and what are sample libraries?

A virtual instrument is a software application that enables the user to produce or play sounds on a computer. Programs of this kind can be run on the computer as plug-ins hosted by the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) software (e.g., Steinberg’s Cubase, Logic or GarageBand by Apple, Pro Tools, etc.) or as stand-alone applications. Similar to a multi-track tape recorder, the DAW application captures a musical performance, while also allowing infinite programming and arrangement possibilities.

There are two kinds of virtual instruments. The first type generates sounds by creating and modulating waveforms – similar to traditional hardware-based synthesizers. The second type are sample-based, i.e., they trigger recorded audio tones, loops, and phrases performed by musicians. These “samples” are edited and assembled for use in a sample library, which can be accessed in real-time by the software instrument. In the case of an orchestral sample library, single notes and tone sequences (phrases) are recorded with various expressions, tempos and articulations. These variations cover the capabilities of each instrument or ensemble. Finally, the recordings are edited in the studio and processed for use in a sample library or virtual instrument.

As opposed to virtual instruments, pure sample libraries like the Vienna Symphonic Library’s PRO EDITION or HORIZON SERIES depended on so-called, software samplers (e.g., GigaStudio, Logic’s EXS24, Kontakt, HALion). The user had to load the sound libraries into the sample players for use. As of September 2007 the Vienna Symphonic Library has discontinued distribution of its sample libraries. Starting in 2006 these libraries have been replaced, little by little with Vienna Instruments – software instruments that enable much simpler and more intuitive handling of the thousands of samples required to create realistic performances.

Vienna Instruments are sample-based virtual orchestra instruments that combine sound data and their sequential arrangement (which is determined by the musical context) with the player software. They enable the user to arrange his or her composition on the computer so that, in many cases, the results cannot be distinguished from a live orchestral recording.

> ABOUT US > WOFÜR?

Wofür werden die Produkte der Vienna Symphonic Library eingesetzt?

Die Produkte der Vienna Symphonic Library erlauben es Musikschaffenden, Orchesterwerke klanggetreu und authentisch am Computer umzusetzen. So können Werke nicht nur visuell als Notentext, sondern auch klanglich professionell ausgeführt werden, ohne dass hierfür die kostspielige Buchung eines Orchesters, Konzertsaals oder großen Aufnahmestudios notwendig ist. Die Vorlage des hörbaren Endresultats erleichtert die Kommunikation mit potenziellen Auftraggebern wie Produzenten, Regisseuren, Verlagen, Veranstaltern oder Intendanten und erhöht die Chancen auf eine Produktion, Aufführung oder Veröffentlichung neuer Werke. Darüber hinaus lassen sich Änderungen bezüglich Instrumentierung, Tempo, Länge oder Tonart rasch umsetzen und sogar Stücke, die bislang als „unspielbar“ gegolten haben, können dank der neuen Technologie umgesetzt werden.

Die internationale Kundenliste der Vienna Symphonic Library umfasst Musiker, Komponisten, Arrangeure und Studiobesitzer auf allen Kontinenten. Bekannte TV- und Filmmusikkomponisten wie Danny Elfman, A.R. Rahman, Alan Silvestri, Alexandre Desplat und viele andere verwenden die Produkte, um Demos (engl.: „mock-ups“) ihrer orchestralen Filmscores zu produzieren und kombinieren die virtuell-orchestralen Klänge in der Endmischung sogar mit den Live-Aufnahmen des echten Orchesters. Die Musik für TV-Serien wie CSI, The Mentalist, Dexter oder Werbespots wird heute fast ausschließlich am Computer produziert, da die immer knapper bemessenen Produktionsszeiten und Budgets keine Aufnahmen eines echten Orchesters erlauben. In diesen Fällen fungiert die auf Samples basierende Einspielung nicht mehr nur als „mock-up“, sondern stellt bereits die Endversion dar.

Nicht zuletzt setzen internationale Ausbildungs-Institutionen die Produkte der Vienna Symphonic Library u. a. in den Bereichen Komposition, Instrumentation, Orchestrierung oder Filmmusik ein.

Was ist ein virtuelles Instrument, was sind Sample Libraries?

Virtuelle Instrumente oder Software-Instrumente sind Anwenderprogramme, mit deren Hilfe Klänge am Computer erzeugt und abgespielt werden können. Sie arbeiten entweder eigenständig („stand-alone”) oder stehen als Plug-in in einer übergeordneten Sequenzer-Software (z. B. Cubase von Steinberg, GarageBand oder Logic von Apple, Pro Tools etc.) zur Verfügung. Ähnlich einer mehrspurigen Tonbandmaschine erlaubt die Sequenzer-Software die flexible Aufzeichnung, Bearbeitung, Wiedergabe und Speicherung von Musik am Computer.

Es können zwei Arten von virtuellen Instrumenten unterschieden werden: Software-Synthesizer generieren und modulieren Klänge mit Hilfe synthetischer Wellenformen, wohingegen Sample-basierende Systeme auf reale, von Musikern eingespielte Tonaufnahmen (sogenannte „Proben“; engl.: „Samples“) zurückgreifen.

Im Falle einer Orchester-Sample Library werden Einzeltöne und Phrasen in einer Vielzahl an Variationen hinsichtlich Ausdruck, Dynamik, Tempo und Artikulation jedes einzelnen Instruments, aber auch ganzer Instrumentengruppen des Orchesters aufgenommen. Die Aufnahmen werden im Studio nachbearbeitet und für den Einsatz in einer Sample Library oder in einem virtuellen Instrument aufbereitet.

Im Vergleich zu virtuellen Instrumenten sind reine Sample Libraries wie z. B. die frühere PRO EDITION oder die HORIZON SERIES der Vienna Symphonic Library auf eine Sample Player-Software angewiesen (z. B. GigaStudio, EXS24 von Apple Logic, Kontakt von Native Instruments, HALion von Steinberg), in die der User die Klangdaten erst importieren muss, um sie anschließend abspielen zu können. Die Vienna Symphonic Library hat den Vertrieb von Sample Libraries im September 2007 eingestellt und diese bereits seit 2006 schrittweise durch die bedienerfreundlicheren Vienna Instruments ersetzt.

Vienna Instruments® sind virtuelle Orchesterinstrumente, die auf Samples basieren und die Klangdaten tausender Aufnahmen durch intelligente Algorithmen in Echtzeit kombinieren und abspielen. Die automatische Erkennung vieler musikalischer Parameter wie Intervalle, Tonrepetitionen oder Tempo ermöglicht vielfältige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten bei intuitiver Bedienung. Die Ergebnisse überzeugen durch einen Klangrealismus, der sie oft nicht mehr von einer echten Orchesteraufnahme unterscheiden lässt.