AUDIO
  • Warning Signs
  • To the Southern Sky (with SY-ized Special Editions and more guests)
  • The Astral Menace
  • Blaster (with BBO: Andromeda, Black Eye and Capricorn)
  • Isolated (with BBO: Andromeda, Black Eye and Capricorn)
  • Supernova (with BBO: Andromeda, Black Eye and Capricorn)

Open External Player

BIG BANG ORCHESTRA: FORNAX


Calculating your price

Loading

VIENNA KEY

Pitched Percussion Ensembles

  • Unique sounds of 3 grand pianos mixed with various percussion instruments
  • Lively energy of up to six musicians playing together
  • Set-ups at three positions captured with multiple microphones
  • Various set-ups can be combined to large ensembles
  • Exceptional acoustics of the large Synchron Stage Vienna

Introduction

Pianos, Drums & More

With this truly unique library we continue to expand the sonic spectrum of our Big Bang Orchestra series. For the pitched percussion library of BBO: Fornax, we were again looking for exceptional combinations of instruments to create organic, rich and pioneering sounds.

Since pianos with their percussive mechanics can be counted among percussion instruments, we used all of our three large concert grands that we house at Synchron Stage Vienna in the sampling sessions. We recorded our Steinway D-274, our Bösendorfer Imperial, and our Yamaha CFX in combination with plate bells, tubular bells, gongs, pitched and unpitched drums and more to create epic sounds, from mysterious touches to bombastic eruptions.

Walter Murphy

Low Range and High Range Set-ups

BBO: Fornax includes several set-ups, categorized into Low Range and High Range instruments. Low Range instrument set-ups offer combinations of three pianos, plate bells, tubular bells, pitched gongs, taikos, timpani, and bass drum. For the “Big Timpani” set, for instance, we were aiming for a colossal sound that we achieved by combining two timpani tuned in octaves with the odaiko (largest taiko) and the bass drum. High Range instruments include plate bells, tubular bells, vibraphone, suspended cymbals, gongs, and triangle. By combining instruments from both groups you’ll cover the entire frequency spectrum.

As with the previous percussion recordings of the Big Bang Orchestra series, we sampled up to six musicians playing together in the large hall of Synchron Stage Vienna. Summoning their amazing musicianship while interacting with each other on the fly, they formed a well-balanced ensemble that – even with such diverse instruments – created a fresh, yet beautifully blended sound.

In addition to overhead microphones, Decca Tree and surround mics, the instruments were isolated during the recording sessions with close microphones while being played together in the ensemble, so you have more control and creative options using the Synchron Player’s internal mixer. By capturing all instruments of the Big Bang Orchestra in a similar way at Synchron Stage Vienna, the pitched percussion instruments of BBO: Fornax integrate perfectly with every module in the series.

Microphone Setup

Main (Decca tree stereo)
Main (Decca tree center)
Main surround stereo
High stereo
High surround stereo
Overhead center
Overhead left
Overhead right
Percussion center close
Percussion left close
Percussion right close

Download File Size 4.9 GB
Installed File Size 17.4 GB

> PRODUCT OVERVIEW > BIG BANG ORCHESTRA > FORNAX: Pitched Percussion Ensembles
BBO: FORNAX
AUDIO More ...
  • Warning Signs
  • To the Southern Sky (with SY-ized Special Editions and more guests)
  • The Astral Menace
  • Blaster (with BBO: Andromeda, Black Eye and Capricorn)
  • Isolated (with BBO: Andromeda, Black Eye and Capricorn)
  • Supernova (with BBO: Andromeda, Black Eye and Capricorn)

Open External Player

BIG BANG ORCHESTRA: FORNAX


Ihr Preis wird berechnet

Loading

VIENNA KEY

Pitched Percussion Ensembles

  • Einzigartige Klänge von 3 Konzertflügeln gemixt mit verschiedenen Perkussionsinstrumenten
  • Power und Energie von bis zu sechs PerkussionistInnen pro Setup
  • Aufgenommen an 3 Positionen mit einer Vielzahl an Mikrofonen
  • Kombinierbar zu großen Percussion-Ensembles
  • Außergewöhnlicher Raumklang der großen Synchron Stage Vienna

Produkt-Vorstellung

Klavier, Schlagwerk & mehr

Mit dieser einzigartigen Library erweitern wir kontinuierlich das Klangspektrum unseres Big Bang Orchestra. Auch für das Pitched Percussion-Modul waren wir auf der Suche nach außergewöhnlichen Instrumenten-Kombinationen, um organisch-musikalische und neuartige Klänge zu erzeugen.

Da Klaviere durch ihre perkussive Mechanik auch zu den Schlaginstrumenten zu zählen sind, haben wir alle drei großen Konzertflügel der Synchron Stage Vienna miteinbezogen. In den Recording-Sessions wurden der Steinway D-274, der Bösendorfer Imperial und der Yamaha CFX gleichzeitig in Kombination mit Plattenglocken, Röhrenglocken, Gongs, sowie gestimmten und ungestimmten Trommeln aufgenommen, um sowohl bombastische Sounds in lauter als auch magische Klanguniversen in leiser Dynamik zu schaffen.

Walter Murphy

Low Range und High Range Ensembles

BBO: Fornax besteht aus mehreren Set-ups in den Frequenz-Kategorien Low Range und High Range. Die tiefen Register werden mit Kombinationen aus Klavieren, Plattenglocken, Röhrenglocken, gestimmten Gongs, Taikos, Pauken und großer Trommel (Bass Drum) bespielt. So wurde z. B. für das Set „Big Timpani“ ein besonders „großer“ Sound erzielt, indem mit Taiko und Bass-Trommel das Frequenzspektrum erweitert wurde, wobei zusätzlich zwei im Oktavabstand gestimmte Pauken mit zwei Schlegeln gespielt wurden. Die hohen Register werden durch Plattenglocken, Röhrenglocken, Vibraphon, Hängebecken, Gongs sowie Triangel abgedeckt. Ein besonderer Reiz besteht in der Kombination dieser beiden Kategorien, wodurch das gesamte Frequenzspektrum abgebildet werden kann.

Wie bei den bisherigen Percussion-Aufnahmen der Big Bang Orchestra-Serie wurden in der großen Halle der Synchron Stage Vienna bis zu sechs PerkussionistInnen aufgenommen. Durch das gemeinsame Einspielen stimmen sich die MusikerInnen automatisch aufeinander ab und adaptieren intuitiv ihre Spielweise. Dadurch ist gewährleistet, dass trotz der so verschiedenartigen Instrumente ein perfekter Zusammenklang und ein homogener, eigenständiger Sound entsteht.

Die Instrumente wurden nicht nur mit Overhead-Mikrofonen, Decca-Tree und Surround-Setups aufgenommen, sondern konnten – obwohl gleichzeitig gespielt – durch Nah-Mikrofonierung derart isoliert werden, dass kreative klangliche Bearbeitungen der Einzelinstrumente im internen Mixer des Synchron Players möglich sind. Durch das konsistente Aufnahmekonzept in der Synchron Stage Vienna fügen sich die „Pitched Percussion“-Instrumente von BBO: Fornax nahtlos in den Gesamtklang des Big Bang Orchestra ein.

Mikrofon Setup

Main (Decca tree stereo)
Main (Decca tree center)
Main surround stereo
High stereo
High surround stereo
Overhead center
Overhead left
Overhead right
Percussion center close
Percussion left close
Percussion right close

Dateigröße des Downloads 4,9 GB
Installierte Dateigröße 17,4 GB