> TEAM > SOFTWARE

Software Development

Karel Bassez
Software Development

Karel_Bassez_220x220.jpg

Karel Bassez is a self-taught software engineer, specialized in real-time audio processing. After creating several software plug-ins for other companies, he joined our team in January 2009 with the development of the Vienna Suite Convolution Reverb. When he's not busy perfecting our products, he usually enjoys reading books about software engineering and/or mathematics. He is also developing a world domination scheme that will eventually make him president of the world. Until then however he is very happy to be part of our team.

Martin Saleteg
Software Development

Martin_Saleteg_220x220.jpg

After completing a degree in audio engineering in 1998, our Swedish co-worker studied Business Administration before starting his own production company in 2000. After a few years, operations shifted more towards developing music software rather than using it, and continued after some further university studies in Software Engineering. Martin finally joined the Vienna software team in 2005.

When not submerged in the deep waters of C++, Martin enjoys spending a quiet and relaxing afternoon at the Thai Boxing gym, or simply idling in a comfortable sofa, noodling around on a guitar.

Dietz Tinhof
MIR Project Management

Team_Dietz_Tinhof_02_220x220.jpg

“It’s Dietz’ fault that I'm doing the whole thing at all!“ Herb likes to quote his own one-liner, which has quite a long history – from the times before the Vienna Symphonic Library took form in his mind: back then, Herb produced his self-composed orchestral scores for the films he directed with the limited sonic possibilities of conventional sample libraries. Dietz, who mixed many of these pieces in the studio, kept nagging about the moderate quality of their toilsomely assembled sample sounds and pestered Herb with the key features of one “serious“ orchestral sound library: The samples would have to be completely free from hiss and noise, each one perfectly in tune of course, and more carefully produced to begin with. His anger found an open ear, and the rest is history …

***

Dietz' life before and besides the Vienna Symphonic Library took place in the studios of his hometown Vienna (and the remaining Europe), where he mixed and/or produced the music of chartbreaking acts like Falco, Count Basic, dZihan & Kamien, Aphrodelics, Marque and many others, as well as scores and sound design for movies and large-scale multimedia events.

BTW – Dietz won his first spurs with the legendary “Austrian Sound Library“ for the Ensoniq EPS 16plus – at times when the quality of a sampling library was measured by its smallness: The whole set  fit onto less than 10 floppies, 720 KB each. :-)

Florian Walter
MIR Software Development

Florian_Walter_220x220.jpg

Florian Walter took over the development of MIR in summer, 2007 and is enthusiastically working on making a great idea into a great piece of software.

He was first confronted with the topic of convolution 5 years ago; since then, it has taken a firm hold on him. During his studies he already implemented different processes and also developed a room simulation system for wave field synthesis at the Fraunhofer Institute. Since 2004, he has been working for Müller-BBM, where takes care of the proper reverb in concert halls and opera houses with the room acoustics system Vivace.

Maya Vinson
Software Development Coordination

Team_Maya_Vinson_440x440

Maya Vinson has been working for the Vienna Symphonic Library since 2001 as a technician in various areas. Since 2013 her tasks include software development coordination, script programming, software testing and support.

Before that she worked as producer and recording engineer for renowned orchestras and choirs (e.g., Concentus Musicus, Arnold Schönberg Chor) as well as sound designer and mixing engineer for various film and multimedia projects (e.g., Luna Papa, Air Square). Maya is a graduate of the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna (audio engineering) and the “Technikum Wien” (innovation and technology management). She speaks German (first language), English, French, Javascript, Lua and C++.

George Yohng
Software Development

Team_George_Yohng_220x220.jpg

George is developing the core technology and the engine upon which Vienna Symphonic Library software products are built.

He has his own web site at www.yohng.com.

> TEAM > SOFTWARE

Software Development

Karel Bassez
Software Development

Karel_Bassez_440x440

Karel Bassez ist als Softwaretechniker Autodidakt und hat sich auf Echtzeit-Audioverarbeitung spezialisiert. Nachdem er mehrere Software-Plugins für andere Firmen entworfen hat, schloss er sich im Jänner 2009 anlässlich der Entwicklung des Vienna Suite Convolution Reverbs unserem Team an. Wenn er nicht damit beschäftigt ist, unsere Produkte zu perfektionieren, liest er üblicher Weise gerne Bücher über Softwaretechnik und/oder Mathematik. Außerdem arbeitet er an einem Weltherrschaftsplan, der ihn schließlich zum Präsidenten der Erde machen wird. Bis dahin aber ist er sehr zufrieden damit, ein Mitglied unseres Teams zu sein.

Martin Saleteg
Software Development

Martin_Saleteg_440x440

Nach seinem Abschluss als Audio Engineer 1998 studierte unser schwedischer Kollege Martin Betriebswirtschaft und gründete 2000 seine eigene Produktionsfirma. Nach ein paar Jahren wendete er sich immer mehr der Entwicklung von Musik-Software zu, statt diese selbst anzuwenden. Also studierte er nun auch Software Engineering und kam 2005 letztendlich zur Vienna Symphonic Library.

Wenn Martin nicht gerade die tiefen Wasser von C++ durchquert, entspannt er sich gerne beim Thai-Boxen oder hängt in aller Ruhe auf einem Sofa herum und zupft an seiner Gitarre.

Dietz Tinhof
MIR Project Management

Team_Dietz_Tinhof_02_220x220

„Der Dietz ist schuld, dass ich mir das alles überhaupt antu’!“ - Herbs gerne wiederholtes Bonmot hat eine lange Geschichte - noch bevor die Vienna Symphonic Library in seinen Gedanken zu reifen begann: Herb produzierte damals die selbst komponierte Musik zu seinen Filmen mit den begrenzten Soundmöglichkeiten konventioneller Sample-Libraries. Dietz, der im Studio die Endmischungen vieler dieser Stücke fertigte, fluchte oft und heftig über die mäßige Qualität der mühselig zusammengetragenen Klänge, und phantasierte laut über die Eckdaten einer „ernst gemeinten“ Sound-Library: rauschfrei müssten die Samples sein, sauber gestimmt sowieso, und überhaupt sorgfältiger  produziert.

Sein Missmut fiel bei Herb auf fruchtbaren Boden, und der Rest ist Geschichte …

***

Sein Leben vor und neben der Vienna Symphonic Library verbrachte Dietz in den Studios seiner Heimatstadt Wien (und des restlichen Europas), wo er die Musik von Acts wie Falco, Count Basic, dZihan & Kamien, Aphrodelics, Marque und Jellyplanet mischte und/oder produzierte, oder mit der Konzeption und Umsetzung großer, multimedialer Events.

Seine ersten Sporen im Sample-Design verdiente sich Dietz übrigens mit seiner legendären „Austrian Sound Library“ für den Ensoniq „EPS 16plus“ - zu Zeiten, als die Qualität eines Sample-Instruments noch an seiner Kleinheit gemessen wurde: die gesamte Library passte auf weniger als 10 Floppy-Disks (zu je 720 KB).

Florian Walter
MIR Software Development

Florian_Walter_440x440

Florian Walter hat im Sommer 2007 die Entwicklung der MIR übernommen und ist begeistert dabei, aus einer großen Idee ein großes Stück Software zu bauen.

Das Thema Faltungshall lief ihm vor 5 Jahren erstmals über den Weg und hat ihn seitdem nicht mehr losgelassen. So hat er bereits während seines Studiums verschiedene Verfahren implementiert und am Fraunhofer Institut ein Raumsimulations-System für Wellenfeldsynthese entwickelt. Seit 2004 arbeitet er für Müller-BBM, wo er mit dem Raumakustiksystem Vivace für den passenden Nachhall in Konzertsälen und Opernhäusern sorgt.

„Die MIR ist in jeder Hinsicht der Schritt in eine neue Liga – sowohl von den klanglichen Möglichkeiten als auch von den technischen Herausforderungen. Ich freue mich sehr, bei dieser Entwicklung mit dabei zu sein!“

Maya Vinson
Software Coordination

Team_Maya_Vinson_v2_440x440

Maya Vinson ist bereits seit 2001 im Team der Vienna Symphonic Library als Technikerin in verschiedenen Bereichen tätig gewesen. Seit 2013 zählt die Koordination der Software-Entwicklung, Script Programming, Testing und Support zu ihren Aufgaben.

Zuvor war sie – nach Absolvierung ihrer Studien an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst (Studienrichtung Tonmeister) sowie am Technikum Wien (Innovations- und Technologiemanagement) – für verschiedene Orchester und Chöre als Tonmeisterin tätig (z.B. Concentus Musicus, Arnold Schönberg Chor) und zeichnete auch für das Sounddesign und Mixing bei div. Film- und Multimediaproduktionen verantwortlich (Luna Papa, Air Square u.a.). Sie spricht Deutsch (Muttersprache), Englisch, Französisch, Javascript, Lua und C++.

George Yohng
Software Development

Team_George_Yohng_220x220

George entwickelt die Grundtechnologie und die Engine, auf welchen die Software-Produkte der Vienna Symphonic Library basieren.

Mehr über ihn finden Sie auf seiner Webseite unter www.yohng.com.