> TEAM > WEB & IT

Web & IT

David Ender
Web

Team_David_Ender_220x220.jpg

The same strange circumstances which made my birthplace Australia also brought me to Austria. My love of music and language led me to composing and improvising all kinds of music, writing books, and performance work with dance and improvisation groups. Currently my favourite instruments are piano and bass guitar, but I’ve always tried to play everything I could get my hands on.

After studying ethnomusicology and indology, and having tried many trades and professions, my previous experience as a translator, writer of hard- and software manuals, programmer etc. came in very handy when I started working for the Vienna Symphonic Library.

Christian Marin
IT Manager

Team_Christian_Marin_220x220.jpg

Comes from the world of moving pictures where he was not only responsible for the equipment but mostly for networks and computer systems as well most of all he’d like to save everything in databases and do away with paperafter discovering his love of virtual worlds he’s now discovered his love of virtual orchestras  computers and programs tremble as soon as he approaches and immediately start working properly again, because they’d otherwise be tweaked until they start doing what they should have done in the beginning

needs at least three monitors, two internet connections and one server at his work station

– and remember: a CRAY is the only computer that runs an endless loop in just 4 hours …

Manfred Rojnik
IT

Team_Manfred_Rojnik_220x220.jpg

More than a decade ago I turned my hobby into my profession and have since been working in the IT field. Knowing VSL since its foundation days, I was able to advise them regarding IT equipment. As a new colleague was needed in the IT department at the same time when I was ready for a change, I became a member of the VSL team on April 10, 2012.

Thomas Spitzer

Team_Thomas_Spitzer_220x220.jpg

xxx

Martin Walla
IT

Team_Martin_Walla_220x220.jpg

I was born in Vienna and graduated from a secondary college for electrical engineering. In the world of music my only experience is that of a consumer; I'm more at home in the world of bits and bytes.

For almost 3 decades I worked in a big electronics corporation's software department, where I developed telecommunication software. I've seen lots of technologies come and go – almost as many as department heads. After many cool years, nice colleagues and intriguing tasks the economic crisis overshadowed this sector, too. For a few years, staff reduction was the standard fare, and I too was washed away with the fifth tsunami of cuts.

Perhaps it was fate or simply a lucky break that my path crossed that of an amiable VSL employee, so that I got into contact with the Vienna Symphonic Library's IT department. I made an appointment with its head, and joined the team on August 1, 2014.

> TEAM > WEB & IT

Web & IT

David Ender
Web

Team_David_Ender_220x220

Eigenartige Verwicklungen haben bewirkt, dass ich in Australien geboren wurde und großteils in Österreich aufgewachsen bin. Meine Liebe zu Musik und Sprache brachte mich zum Komponieren und Improvisieren aller Arten von Musik, zum Bücherschreiben und zu Performances mit Tanz- und Improvisationsgruppen. Derzeit spiele ich hauptsächlich Klavier und Bassgitarre, habe aber immer alle Instrumente ausprobiert, die ich in die Finger bekam.

Nach einem Studium der Ethnomusikologie und Indologie sowie vielen verschiedenen Jobs und Berufen kam mir die vorangegangene Erfahrung als Übersetzer, Verfasser von Hard- und Softwarehandbüchern, Programmierer usw. sehr zugute, als ich bei der Vienna Symphonic Library anfing.

Christian Marin
IT Manager

Team_Christian_Marin_220x220

kommt aus der welt der bewegten bilder und war dort neben der ausstattung meist auch für netzwerke und computersysteme zuständig, würde am liebsten alles in datenbanken speichern und die verwendung von papier abschaffen, hat nach seiner vorliebe für virtuelle welten nun die für virtuelle orchester entdeckt, computer und programme erzittern bereits bei seiner anwesenheit und funktionieren sofort wieder ordentlich, da sie sonst solange bearbeitet werden, bis sie tun, was sie besser gleich hätten tun sollen, braucht an seinen arbeitsplatz mindestens drei monitore, zwei internetanbindungen und einen server

– and remember: a CRAY is the only computer that runs an endless loop in just 4 hours …

Manfred Rojnik
IT

Team_Manfred_Rojnik_220x220

Vor über einem Jahrzehnt habe ich mein Hobby zum Beruf gemacht und bin seither in der IT tätig. Die VSL ist mir bereits seit ihrer Gründung bekannt und so durfte ich in den ersten Tagen bezüglich der IT Ausstattung beratend tätig sein. Da der Bedarf für einen neuen Kollegen in der IT aufkam und ich mich zeitgleich beruflich verändern wollte, bin ich seit 10. April 2012 Mitglied im Team der VSL.

Martin Walla
IT

Team_Martin_Walla_220x220

Ich bin in Wien geboren und absolvierte die HTL für Elektrotechnik in Wien I. In der Welt der Musik habe ich nur Konsumentenerfahrung. Meine Welt ist eher die der Bits und Bytes.

Ich war fast 3 Jahrzehnte in der Software Entwicklungsabteilung eines großen Elektrokonzerns tätig. Dort entwickelte ich Software für den Telekommunikationsbereich. In dieser Zeit habe ich sehr viele Technologien kommen und gehen gesehen, fast soviele wie Abteilungsleiter. Nach vielen tollen Jahren, netten Kollegen und spannenden Aufgaben warf die Wirtschaftskrise auch auf diese Branche ihre Schatten. Personalabbau stand einige Jahre am Programm, und mit der fünften 'Tsunami' Abbauwelle hat es auch mich von dieser Firma weggespült.

Man könnte es Schicksal oder glücklicher Zufall nennen, dass sich mein Weg mit dem einer netten VSL-Mitarbeiterin kreuzte und ich so mit der IT Abteilung der Vienna Symphonic Library in Kontakt kam. Beim IT-Leiter habe ich mich vorgestellt und bin seit 1. August 2014 mit Freude dabei.