AUDIO
  • Breaking The Rules
  • Prometu Fanfare
  • Cranici - A Nice Dream
  • Cranici - End Title
  • Magus - Main Title

Open External Player
> ARTISTS > WORKS > GUIDO MANCUSI

Herb Tucmandl presents early film music of Guido Mancusi

Writing about this project has special significance for me as it takes me back to my origins in the world of music and film, which formed the basis of my later career. Guido and I were classmates at the Musikgymnasium Wien (a special upper-secondary academic school with an emphasis on music) and we both finished in 1985 with the "Matura" (A-level). At that time, Guido was a great admirer of American film music, especially of John Williams’ scores. His extraordinary talent as a young composer enabled him to write outstanding music in the “Hollywood style” as an 18 year-old student!

Since I am also a fan of John Williams and the works of Jerry Goldsmith and John Barry (to name a few) there was no question that Guido would compose the soundtrack for my first feature-length fiction film, “I Cranici dell’Ibico”. It was an epic score for large symphony orchestra, played by the orchestra of the Musikgymnasium Wien.

Looking back today – 27 years later – and after intense studies of Guido’s scores of that time I realized the outstanding achievements inherent in these early works. They are particularly noteworthy when you think of the so-called “classical” university studies of composition and conducting at that time in Vienna. American mainstream film music didn’t play a role in those studies, and nothing comparable was composed or produced.

PrometuFanfare_Score_200x273.jpg

Manuscript of “Prometu Fanfare”

AUDIO
  • Breaking The Rules
  • Prometu Fanfare
  • Cranici - A Nice Dream
  • Cranici - End Title
  • Magus - Main Title

Open External Player
> ARTISTS > WORKS > GUIDO MANCUSI

Herbert Tucmandl präsentiert frühe Filmmusiken von Guido Mancusi

Die begleitenden Worte für diese Projektseite haben für mich einen ganz besonderen Stellenwert, da sie mich zu meinen Ursprüngen in der Musik- und Filmwelt zurückführen, die auch die Basis für meinen späteren Werdegang bildeten. Guido und ich waren Klassenkollegen am Musikgymnasium Wien (einer speziellen Form des Oberstufen-Realgymnasiums mit Musik-Schwerpunkt), wo wir im Jahr 1985 unsere Matura (Abitur) ablegten. Bereits während der Schulzeit war Guido ein großer Bewunderer amerikanischer Filmmusik, besonders jener von John Williams. Sein außergewöhnliches kompositorisches Talent ermöglichte es ihm bereits als 18-jährigem Studenten, hervorragende Musik im großen „Hollywood-Stil“ zu schreiben.

Für mich als ebenfalls großer Fan der Arbeiten von John Williams, aber auch Jerry Goldsmith und John Barry (um nur einige zu nennen), lag es deshalb auf der Hand, dass Guido den Soundtrack zu meinem ersten abendfüllenden Spielfilm, „I Cranici dell’Ibico“ komponieren würde. So entstand ein episch angelegter Score für großes Symphonieorchester, der damals vom Orchester des Wiener Musikgymnasiums eingespielt wurde.

Im Rückblick und nach intensiver Auseinandersetzung mit Guidos Partituren aus dieser Zeit wird mir heute – 27 Jahre später – erst richtig bewusst, welch außergewöhnliche Leistung darin steckte. Insbesondere auch wenn man bedenkt, dass damals amerikanische Mainstream-Filmmusik im Rahmen der sogenannten „klassischen“ Kompositions- und Dirigentenausbildung keinen besonders hohen Stellenwert hatte und in Wien auch nichts Vergleichbares komponiert und produziert wurde.

Prometu Fanfare Score

Manuskript zur „Prometu Fanfare“