AUDIO
  • Die Heilige Ente op.15
  • Die Heilige Ente op.15 - Love Duet
  • Symphony No. 2 op.53
  • Violin concerto

Open External Player
> ARTISTS > WORKS > HANS GÁL

Reviving Lost Masterpieces

London-based cellist and record producer Simon Fox brought the compositions of his grandfather Hans Gál back to life, using the Vienna Symphonic Library.

The composer Hans Gál was born near Vienna in 1890. Following considerable success in the 1920s, he was appointed Director of the Conservatory in Mainz in 1929. Hitler's accession to power in 1933 led to his instant dismissal and the banning of all his works. He returned to Vienna, but was again forced to flee by Hitler’s annexation of Austria in 1938. He emigrated to Britain and settled in Edinburgh, where he remained active until his death in 1987.

Simon Fox

"We have many recordings of Gál's music on tape, both amateur and professional. These are valuable to have, but when it comes to presenting a work for an interested artist to evaluate, the Vienna Symphonic Library has given us the tools to create a different, quite 'direct' experience of a work, in the form of a carefully considered recorded performance. It's not a real orchestra, but the essence of the music itself is there, time and our imagination being the only limits to the extent to which we can achieve perfection in the smallest of musical details. The idea is certainly not to replace live performances, but to inspire them."

Simon Fox March 2004


Simon Fox-Gál, Hans Gál’s grandson, grew up in musical surroundings and started the cello at the age of five, and the piano at the age of eight. After a six-year training as record producer (Tonmeister) at the Hochschule für Musik in Detmold, Germany, he set up base in London, working initially for Swiss record label Pan Classics and ex-Decca recording outfit Classic Sound.

His work is now for the well-established continental recording company Musica Numeris, and as freelance record producer and editor for a number of labels in the UK. Recent work as producer has included Mahler 2 for Warner Classics with Orchestre de La Monnaie (Brussels), A Strauss compilation with the Wiener Streichsextett and Boccherini quintets for EMI/Virgin with Fabio Biondi’s Europa Galante.

Simon has made recordings for the labels EMI/Virgin Classics, Erato, Warner, NMC, Sony Music, Pan Classics, Campanella Musica, Mirare, Hungaroton, Ambroisie, Avie, Cypres, Naxos, and BMG/RCA. Editing work has included a substantial number of Decca/Universal releases.

A new line of creativity began with a contract for an exhibition in Vienna on Hans Gál and Egon Wellesz in 2004 (Jüdisches Museum), for which audio tracks, excerpts of orchestral works which have not yet been recorded, had to be prepared. This task was only made possible by the discovery of the Vienna Symphonic Library. In collaboration with his wife, Katalin Kertész, Simon has now set up Creative Symphonic Arts, dedicated to producing such excerpts of unknown repertoire for composers and music promoters. It was essential to develop a workflow method that would not merely present the bare bones of the music, but convey a convincing musical performance with a ‘live’ feel. They have achieved this by using the Vienna Symphonic Library samples, overdubbed with their own ‘live’ string playing.

 

Simon Fox

AUDIO
  • Die Heilige Ente op.15
  • Die Heilige Ente op.15 - Liebesduett
  • Sinfonie Nr. 2 op. 53
  • Violinkonzert

Open External Player
> ARTISTS > WORKS > HANS GÁL

Die Wiederbelebung vergessener Meisterwerke

Vergessene Werke Hans Gáls wurden von seinem in London lebenden Enkel, dem Cellisten Simon Fox, zu neuem Leben erweckt.

Der Komponist Hans Gál wurde 1890 in der Nähe Wiens geboren. Nach ansehnlichem Erfolg in den 20er Jahren wurde er 1929 Direktor des Mainzer Konservatoriums. Die Nazi-Machtübernahme im Jahr 1933 führte zur sofortigen Entlassung und zum Verbot seiner Werke. Er ging nach Wien zurück, wurde aber 1938 durch den Anschluss Österreichs wieder gezwungen, das Land zu verlassen. Er emigrierte nach England und ließ sich in Edinburgh nieder, wo er bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1987 aktiv war.

Simon Fox

"Wir haben einige professionelle und Amateur-Aufnahmen der Werke Hans Gáls auf Tonband. Will man aber die Werke einem interessierten Künstler zur Beurteilung präsentieren, bietet uns die Vienna Symphonic Library ganz neue Möglichkeiten, ein anderes, gewissermaßen „direkteres“ Hörerlebnis zu schaffen – in Form einer wohlüberlegten und sorgfältig ausgeführten Aufnahme. Obwohl es kein reales Orchester ist, wird das Wesen der Musik vermittelt. Zeit und unsere Fantasie sind die einzigen Beschränkungen, um Vollkommenheit bis ins kleinste musikalische Detail zu erreichen. Natürlich ist es nicht unsere Intention, die Live-Performance zu ersetzen, sondern sie zu inspirieren."

Simon Fox März 2004


Simon Fox-Gál wuchs als Enkel des berühmten Komponisten Hans Gál in einer musikalischen Familie auf und begann schon im Alter von 5 Jahren Cello und mit 8 Jahren Klavier zu spielen. Nach einer sechsjährigen Ausbildung zum Tonmeister an der Hochschule für Musik in Detmold, Deutschland, lebt er in London und arbeitet für die Schweizer Plattenlabels Pan Classics und Classic Sound.

Derzeit arbeitet er für die in Europa anerkannte Firma Musica Numeris und als freier Musikproduzent und Editor für einige Labels in England. Seine letzten Arbeiten waren Mahlers 2. Symphonie für Warner Classics mit dem Orchestre de La Monnaie (Brüssel), eine Strauß-Compilation mit dem Wiener Streichsextett und Boccherini-Quintette für EMI/Virgin mit Fabio Bondi’s Europa Galante.

Simon produzierte für die Labels EMI/Virgin Classics, Erato, Warner, NMC, Sony Music, Pan Classics, CampanellaMusica, Mirare, Hungaroton, Ambroisie, Avie, Cypres, Naxosand BMG/RCA. Für Decca/Universal zeichnet er für eine Vielzahl an Aufnahmen als Tonmeister verantwortlich.

Eine neue Aufgabe übernahm Simon 2004 durch seinen Vertrag mit dem Jüdischen Museum in Wien für eine Ausstellung über Hans Gál und Egon Wellesz, für das er Audio Tracks von Exzerpten orchestraler Arbeiten produzierte, die noch niemals zuvor aufgenommen wurden. Diese Arbeit wurde nur durch seine Entdeckung der Vienna Symphonic Library möglich. In Zusammenarbeit mit seiner Frau Katalin Kertész gründete Simon nun Creative Symphonic Arts mit der Zielsetzung, noch niemals produzierte und unbekannte Werke für Komponisten und Produzenten wieder aufzuarbeiten. Es war wichtig eine Methode zu entwickeln, die nicht einfach nur Noten wiedergibt, sondern das Erlebnis einer echten musikalischen Live-Performance überzeugend vermitteln kann. Mit den Samples der Vienna Symphonic Library und der von seiner Frau gespielten Violine wurde dieses Ziel erreicht.

 

Simon Fox

Simon Fox